Skip to main content

Library Resources and Services

Find information about the different resources and services offered to faculty, staff. and students.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I Print PowerPoint slides 3 or 6 to a page?

First of all, if the slideshow is in Blackboard, you must save it to the computer or a USB flash/thumb drive first.
Open the slideshow then click on the File Tab on the top left corner of the screen and scroll down to “Print.”
In the center section click on the box that says “Full Page Slides Print 1 slide per page” and from the handout section of the drop down menu choose the number of slides per page you wish to print. For best results click on the “Color” box and select “pure black and white.”

How do I Print a document in the library?

You must have a print card; these are purchased at the circulation desk on the 1st floor. Prints are 10 ¢ per page for black and white prints and 20¢ per page for color. There is a minimum purchase of $1.00. In Internet Explorer or Firefox, click on “File” and scroll down to “Print.” In Microsoft Office click on the File Tab on the top left corner of the screen, then scroll down to print. Use the default printer, LibBlk-Wht or for color printing, select the LibPblcColor printer. CAUTION Microsoft Document/Image Writer is not a real printer. Once you have sent your document to the printer, go to any of the GoPrint kiosks and follow the directions on the top of the machine. For DUPLEX printing, see library staff for assistance.

How do I Reset my domain password?

If your password has NOT expired you can change your password at any time by going to http://webmail.uams.edu/ and clicking on the link titled “Password Reset.”
If your password has expired or you have forgotten your password you will need to call the IT Technical Support Help Desk at 686-8555.

How do I Access my USB flash/thumb drive?

Plug-in your USB thumb/flash drive into one of the USB ports on the front of the computer and the computer will automatically recognize it. Go to “My Computer” and Click on “Removable Drive (E)” to access your files. If your thumb/flash drive is not listed under My Computer contact a library staff member for assistance.

How do I Access a webpage that is not working in Internet Explorer?

If you are unable to access a webpage from Internet Explorer, please try to open the page in another browser such as Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome. Shortcuts for these browsers can be found on the desktop of each public computer.
If you are still having problems after trying a different computer, please contact one of the library staff members immediately.

How do I Connect to the wireless network in the library?

For printable step-by-step directions for accessing the UAMS Guest account open this document. For step-by-step instruction for accessing the UAMS account open this document.

How do I Get programs for my mobile device?

See our listing of mobile resources. Most of these programs are available for download/installation from your device or home computer. If you have any questions or would like assistance please contact Alice Jaggers in Education & Reference at 501-686-8022 or email AJaggers@uams.edu.

How do I How do I renew my library books?

You can stop by the Circulation desk on the 1st floor or call 686-5980. You can also renew all library materials online through the UAMS Library Catalog. Click on the “Log in to your account” link located at the top right of the catalog homepage and enter your username/password to login and renew your items. If you don’t know your username/password, call the library at 686-5980.

login account

Access your account to renew library books online.

How do I access the after-hours area?

Students and Residents can access the Library 24/7 with their ID badge from the first floor, northeast lobby of EDII. For more information about after-hours access please see the policy page.

Information For New Students

About the Library

Library Hours and Holiday Calendar

Students and Residents with a current UAMS ID badge can access the library after-hours on the first floor from the badge swipe provided at the Northeast lobby area of EDII.

For more information about after-hours access go now go button

Library Print & Electronic Resources

Print Resources

Books are on the 2nd floor and are searchable in the online catalog and available for circulation. Books circulate for three weeks and may be renewed once. Fines for overdue books are $1.00 per day.

Journals are located on 3rd floor and are searchable in the online catalog, but do not circulate.

If you need assistance finding a book or journal, please contact the staff at the Circulation desk or call 501-686-5980

Electronic Resources

Both book and journals are searchable from the online catalog and from the ebook and eJournal.

There are a multitude of electronic databases for finding articles or literature. To see the most popular and complete list go now go button

If you need assistance finding an electronic resources, please contact the Reference staff at 501-686-6734 or come by the office located on the first floor of the library.

Literature Searching

We offer free literature searching and research consultations. Learn about the Research and Clinical Search Services program.

Computing and Wireless Access

Computers are available on all floors of the Library with Internet, email, and Microsoft Office products.

Laptops, and mobile devices with Wi-Fi network connectivity can access the Internet throughout the Library.

To find out more information about all computers, wireless access, and other equipment available go now go button

Quiet and Group Study Areas

Group and individual study located on 1st floor in the Active Learning Center, Quiet/Study East & West, Watson Room, and the area across from the Circulation desk. The library provides a student lounge area with vending machines, microwave, and seating that is also available after-hours. There are two soft seating areas with current news papers.

There are two conference rooms on 2nd floor equipped with Smart Board technology. Small group rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor West side of the building (first come first serve basis). Each room contains a white board and a 40″ screen with HDMI cables for connecting to a laptop. These rooms will accommodate small groups only. There are also individual study carrels located around the walls of 2nd and 3rd floors.

For more information about rooms and spaces go now go button

Printing and Photocopying

A reusable copy card is available for purchase at the Circulation desk on the 1st floor of the library, starting at $1 (includes 5 copies). There is a print card dispenser/recharge machine in the Quiet/Study East room which is available after-hours. NOTE: This machine only accepts $1.00 bills.

There are black/white printers available on 1st, 2nd, and 3rd floors and in the Quiet/Study East room which is available after-hours. The only color printer is located on 2nd floor. There is a professional grade photocopier that does both black/white and color in the main lobby area of 1st floor.

For more information about printing and cost go now go button

Information for New Residents

About the Library

Library Hours and Holiday Calendar

Students and Residents with a current UAMS ID badge can access the library after-hours on the first floor from the badge swipe provided at the Northeast lobby area of EDII.

For more information about after-hours access go now go button

Library Print & Electronic Resources

Print Resources

Books are on the 2nd floor and are searchable in the online catalog and available for circulation. Books circulate for three weeks and may be renewed once. Fines for overdue books are $1.00 per day.

Journals are located on 3rd floor and are searchable in the online catalog, but do not circulate.

If you need assistance finding a book or journal, please contact the staff at the Circulation desk or call 501-686-5980

Electronic Resources

Both book and journals are searchable from the online catalog and from the ebook and eJournal.

There are a multitude of electronic databases for finding articles or literature. To see the most popular and complete list go now go button

If you need assistance finding an electronic resources, please contact the Reference staff at 501-686-6734 or come by the office located on the first floor of the library.

Literature Searching

We offer free literature searching and research consultations. Learn about the Research and Clinical Search Services program.

Computing & Wireless Access

Computers are available on all floors of the Library with Internet, email, and Microsoft Office products.

Laptops, and mobile devices with Wi-Fi network connectivity can access the Internet throughout the Library.

To find out more information about all computers, wireless access, and other equipment available go now go button

Quiet & Study Areas

Group and individual study located on 1st floor in the Active Learning Center, Quiet/Study East & West, Watson Room, and the area across from the Circulation desk. The library provides a student lounge area with vending machines, microwave, and seating that is also available after-hours. There are two soft seating areas with current news papers.

There are two conference rooms on 2nd floor equipped with Smart Board technology. Small group rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor West side of the building (first come first serve basis). Each room contains a white board and a 40″ screen with HDMI cables for connecting to a laptop. These rooms will accommodate small groups only. There are also individual study carrels located around the walls of 2nd and 3rd floors.

For more information about rooms and spaces go now go button

Printing & Photocopying

A reusable copy card is available for purchase at the Circulation desk on the 1st floor of the library, starting at $1 (includes 5 copies). There is a print card dispenser/recharge machine in the Quiet/Study East room which is available after-hours. NOTE: This machine only accepts $1.00 bills.

There are black/white printers available on 1st, 2nd, and 3rd floors and in the Quiet/Study East room which is available after-hours. The only color printer is located on 2nd floor. There is a professional grade photocopier that does both black/white and color in the main lobby area of 1st floor.

For more information about printing and cost go now go button

After Residency

End of Residency? Information for Health Professionals

Not Staying in Arkansas? Each state belongs to one of 8 regions in the U.S. and each region has a Regional Medical Library. These libraries can guide you to a local Resource Library offering document delivery and other library services to Health Care Professionals. To find your Regional Medical Library: call 1-800-338-7657 from a telephone in your new locale. This number will check the area code from which you are calling and automatically direct your call to the proper Regional Library.

Information for New Employees

Welcome to the Library at UAMS and how to register

The Library is available for all UAMS employees.  The UAMS ID badge serves as your library card.  You can register for Library services by coming into the Library and speaking with Circulation Desk staff, or you can register online here.

http://library.uams.edu

Browse Magazines with Browzine

Information for New Researchers & Faculty

Browse Journals with Browzine

Link to PubMed and the UAMS Library eJournal collections

UAMS & ACH Resource

RefWorks bibliographic manager with Write-N-Cite

Catalog

UAMS Library Catalog with ACH books and journals

Predatory Publishing

Predatory Publishing

Evidence Based Medicine

Evidence Based Medicine

Research and Clinical Search Services

Reference Services from UAMS Library

Looking for a Journal, Book, or other resource?