Education Librarian & Liaison to ACH
Arkansas Children's Hospital
Nursing Research Department
Areas of Emphasis:
Education and Reference
Evidence Based Medicine
ACH Collection Development, print and online resources
Louise provides both reference and technical services for the Arkansas Children's Hospital Medical Library. In addition, she provides UAMS Library education for faculty, staff and students. During a consult, Louise will guide you through basic searching in the databases and help set up your accounts in NCBI, Interlibrary Loan and RefWorks. She can produce short videos or tutorials for your students on particular resources. Louise will arrange for group or class instruction as well. She has recently graduated from the UAMS Teaching Scholars program and the UAMS Leadership Institute. Her previous experience includes 6 years as the primary on-site librarian for ACH. She also served as the librarian for Heifer International and 9 years as the Head of the Baptist Health Little Rock Medical Library.
Principal Investigator NLM, NIH, PHS 398, Grant for Internet Connectivity Awarded $24,756 for Baptist Health Internet Links, Little Rock, AR, 1997 (1 G08 LM06612-01)
Reach Out and Read: The Essentials for Residents. 15 min. 34 second web-based video designed to introduce the early literacy promotion program Reach Out and Read to residents in 2 UAMS Regional Programs’ clinics, UAMS Southwest and UAMS Northeast. We offered the opportunity to watch the video to Residents to see if they would actually watch a 15 minute video and if they would feel confident choosing an age appropriate book for a child.
M1 Video Tutorial on library resources: Directed by Louise Montgomery; Script, Susan Steelman & Louise Montgomery; 2015,2016,2017
Created video of Statistical Resources and PubMed Searching for Program Planning and valuation HBHE 5324, Martha Carle Aug 2016
PEDSIG (Pediatric Libraries Special Interest Group of the Medical Library Association) webpage http://www.pedsig.mlanet.org. Design and editor, 2010-2014.
ACH Patient Family Resource Center design contributor 2010-2011
Dig Deeper Day, Heifer International. The Great Debate, December 9, 2006. Event and debate coordinator for the formal staff debate on differing approaches to ending poverty found in the works of Jeffrey Sachs and William Easterly, 2006
Sleep Medicine database of references developed for Dr. David Davila, BHMC-LR, 20
Implemented Serials Solutions link resolver and added ACH ejournal and ebook collections. Implemented EZProxy for off-campus access and UAMS Pediatrics access to ACH Library collection
Create and maintain ACH Library database and electronic resources access on the ACH intranet, TeamACH.
Facilitated Arts of UAMS exhibit for ACH Artist-in-Residence Program
“Introduction of the early literacy promotion program Reach Out and Read to two residency programs using an abbreviated video of the Reach Out and Read for Primary Care Providers instructional online program” 2016 SCC/MLA Contributed Papers session , Galveston, TX.
Medical Library Association, 1994-2005, 2008-2014, 2016
Pediatric Libraries Special Interest Section, 2008-2014
Web Page Developer (www.pedsig.mlanet.org) 2010 - May 2014 Consumer and Patient Health Information Section; Hospital Libraries Interest Section ; Nursing Allied Health Resources Section
Medical Library Association, South Central Chapter, 1994-2005, 2008-present
Treasurer 2005 (elected); Secretary 2000 (elected); Government Relations Committee 1994-1995
Medical Library Association, AHIP (Academy of Health Information Professionals), Senior Member, 2000-2005
Arkansas Public Health Association, Arkansas Health Literacy special interest group, 2011
ACH Nursing Research Council, 2008-present
ACH Learning Leadership Team, Fall 2013
ACH Patient Education Committee, 2008-2014 Education:
M.L.S. 1985, University of Alabama
B.A. 1980, University of Georgia; Economics
Attended, 1978-1979, Université Paul Valéry à Montpellier, France; Liberal Arts