All Web Pages: Pharmacy Resources: Drug and Clinical Summary Resources

Introductory Videos

The resources listed in this guide will serve as a starting point for locating information on biomedical topics.

    VIDEO: UAMS Library Online Orientation
    Overview of the UAMS Library Online Resources and Services 2020. Running time: 8 mins.
    VIDEO: Introduction to PubMed
    Getting started with PubMed. Running time: 8 mins.

Drug & Clinical Summary Resources

EMBCalc! (Stat!Ref tool)

A unique computerized medical reference and tool set. EBMcalc encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used everyday by clinicians, medical educators, nurses and health care students of all types.

USP Academic Connection - USP-NF and Food Chemicals Codex - USP Academic Connection provides access to USP's internationally recognized quality standards for medicines, dietary supplements, and food ingredients through the U.S. Pharmacopia-National Formulary (USP-NF) and the Food Chemicals Codex (FCC)
- First register using your UAMS email here: USP Academic Connection Registration - https://usp.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_bEM8pqWOF2tiF7v
- Once registered you will confirm your email and be taken to the USP Academic Connection page. Use the Login button int he top right hand corner for USP-NF.
- For assistance, contact: support@usp.org or Library Reference (501) 686-6734
- USP Registration FAQ Document

USP Registration FAQ Document

Lexidrug
Point of care source for pharmacology and clinical information.Clinical applications include drug interactions, tablet and capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets.
Pharmacy students should contact the Dean's office of the College of Pharmacy for authorization codes to the mobile device app.
Micromedex
Referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.
UptoDate
You can now log into your UpToDate account using Single Sign-On [SSO]. This allows you to authenticate your account from anywhere with your UAMS login and you no longer need to authenticate onsite every 90 days. New users can also register for an account remotely or through the mobile app without having to first create an account on the UAMS network. Simply enter your UAMS email on the UpToDate login page and enter your credentials when prompted. Connect your existing UpToDate account to your UAMS login without losing your CME, bookmarks, or account settings by following the instructions in the linked tip sheet.

Concise topic reviews of published evidence with recommendations for patient care. Includes Lexi-Interact drug interactions analysis tool. Earn CME/CE/CPD credit every time you research a clinical question using UpToDate.

EBP Resources

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Ebsco)
A bibliographic database that provides a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized controlled trials. Records contain the list of authors, the title of the article, the source, volume, issue, page numbers, and, in many cases, a summary of the article (abstract). They do not contain the full text of the article.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database Pro
Simultaneously search for systematic reviews, practice guidelines, medical image databases, e-textbooks, etc.