Because it is important for teens to have access to reliable health information that is easy to understand, the UAMS Library has created this index of health topics. Many of the resources are from the National Library of Medicine’s MedlinePlus site and the National Institutes of Health to ensure the information is current and valid. Most of the sites listed, provide Spanish and other language translations. The selected resources in this listing are written specifically for a teen audience, but many also include links for educators and parents as well.
MedlinePlus: Teen Health (National Library of Medicine) – links to health information from the National Institutes of Health and other selected agencies and organizations.
TeensHealth (Nemours Foundation) – Articles reviewed and updated by a team of pediatricians and other medical experts. Text is available in Spanish and audio recordings of the text is available.
Bullying and Violence
MedlinePlus: Bullying (National Library of Medicine) – links to health information from the National Institutes of Health and other selected agencies and organizations.
StopBullying.gov: Teens (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) – Information from various government agencies on what bullying is, who is at risk, and how you can prevent and respond to bullying.
TeensHealth (Nemours Foundation) – This team of pediatricians and other medical experts reviews all KidsHealth content regularly to ensure the information is as current as possible.
Cancers in Young People (National Cancer Institute) – Covers types of cancers, finding a doctor, treatment choices, coping and support, after treatment, and related organizations.
TeensHealth: Types of Cancer Teens Get (Nemours Foundation) – A listing and description of types of cancers common in teens including symptoms, causes, treatments, and additional resources.
Diabetes types I and II
National Diabetes Education Program (NDEP): Teens (National Institutes of Health and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) – Over 200 partners at the federal, state and local levels, provide information to improve the treatment and outcomes for people with diabetes, promote early diagnosis, and prevent or delay the onset of type 2 diabetes.
TeensHealth: Diabetes-Dealing with Feelings (Nemours Foundation) – Advice on what to do if you’ve just been diagnosed, dealing with your feelings and those of family and friends.
MedlinePlus: Teen Health (National Library of Medicine) – Overview of various aspects of teen health including basics, research, and references from a variety trustworthy agencies.
National Institute of Mental Health Infocenter, Children and Adolescents (National Institutes of Health) – Catalog of print and epublications for download or mail order.
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration) Information and resources related to the Suicide Prevention Lifeline, a direct connection local crisis center counselors at 1-800-273-8255.
Office of Adolescent Health: Mental Health (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) – Reproductive, mental, and physical health topics for teens including substance abuse and healthy relationships.
Nutrition and Obesity
Eat to Be Fit: Nutritional Informational Handouts (Montana Office of Public Instruction) – A series of 12 informational handouts for teenagers. Covers topics teens have identified as most important or of interest to them.
HealthyChildren.org: Teen (American Academy of Pediatrics) – Includes articles (some with audio/video) on dating/sex, fitness, nutrition, driving safety, school, and substance abuse.
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (National Institutes of Health) – Health research and news about Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. Includes information specifically for teens.
Nutrition.gov for Tweens and Teens (National Agricultural Library) – Vetted food and nutrition information from federal government agencies.
Office of Adolescent Health: Physical Health and Nutrition (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) – Covers healthy behaviors, chronic conditions, and access to physical health services.
HealthyChildren.org: Expect Respect: Healthy Relationships (American Academy of Pediatrics) – Article on healthy relationships. Text is available in Spanish and in audio formats.
Office of Adolescent Health: Health Relationships (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) – Covers topics of dating, bullying, LGBT, dating violence, healthy friendships, and talking with teens.
SaferTeenDrivingAR.org (Arkansas Children’s Hospital Injury Prevention Center) – Resources and videos for teens, educators, and parents.
Teen Driving Safety Tips (Florida Safety and Motor Vehicles) – A listing on driving safety tips “before you drive” and “while you drive”.
Fight Bac! Keep Food Safe From Bacteria (Partnership for Food Safety Education) – Information on how harmful bacteria is spread and safe food handling.
TeensHealth: Food Safety (Nemours Foundation) – Why food safety matters and how to prevent food poisoning.
Sports & Exercise Safety
TeensHealth: Sports and Exercise Safety (Nemours Foundation) – Covers topics of protective sportswear, warming up, taking time out to heal, and following sports rules.
HealthyChildren.org: Health Concerns for Gay and Lesbian Teens (American Academy of Pediatrics) – Article covers sexual activity, substance use, mental health, discrimination and violence.
LGBT Youth (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) – Covers possible difficult experiences in being gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning LGBTQ youth.
LGBT Youth Resources (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) – Printable pdfs and links to resources for LGBT youth and their friends. Also includes links for school educators and administrators, parents, and family members.
StopBullying.gov: Bullying and LGBT Youth (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) – Covers bullying, creating safe environments, federal civil rights, and other resources.
TeensHealth: Sexual Attraction and Orientation for Girls (Nemours Foundation) – Article defines sexual orientation and covers healthy relationships, talking to adults, puberty, how school counselors can help, transgender people, and love and romance.
TeensHealth: Sexual Attraction and Orientation for Guys (Nemours Foundation) – Article defines sexual orientation and covers healthy relationships, talking to adults, puberty, how school counselors can help, transgender people, and love and romance.
Sex, Sexual Decisions & Reproductive Health
HealthyChildren.org: Deciding to Wait (American Academy of Pediatrics) – Article on deciding if you are ready to have sex, reasons, setting limits, and the risks of having sex.
Teens Health: Virginity: A Very Personal Decision (Nemours Foundation) – Discusses peer pressure, curiosity, and why some teens wait to have sex.
Frequently Asked Questions Especially for Teens: Birth Control (American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists) Four page printable pdf of frequently asked questions about birth control, including what to consider when choosing birth control, which birth control methods are best at preventing pregnancy, types of birth control, and emergency birth control.
Sexual Health and Reproductive Systems
Frequently Asked Questions Especially for Teens: You and Your Sexuality ( The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists) – A three page printable pdf of frequently asked questions titled “You and Your Sexuality (Especially for Teens)” Copyright May 2015.
MedlinePlus: Teen Sexual Health (National Library of Medicine) – Basic information, research, multimedia, and references for teen sexual health.
Office of Adolescent Health: Reproductive Health (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) – Includes information about dating and talking to teens about sex, contraceptive and condom use, sexually transmitted diseases, teen pregnancy and childbearing, and statistics on adolescent reproductive health facts by state.
TeensHealth: Sexual Health (Nemours Foundation) – Sexual health information articles on the changing body, infections, birth control, and specific information for girls and for guys.
Sexual Transmitted Diseases (STDs) and Infections (STIs)
CDC Vital Signs: HIV Among Youth in the US (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) – Statistics about HIV among US youth. Includes discussion of who is at risk, what can be done, the science behind the issue, and provides links to relted web sites.
TeensHealth: About Sexually Transmitted Diseases (Nemours Foundation) – Article discusses how STDs are spread, myths, and how to protect yourself. Article ends with links to more information including signs and symptoms of common STDs.
TeensHealth: HPV Vaccine (Nemours Foundation) – Topics include what is HPV and why is it a problem, how the vaccine works, side effects, and protecting yourself against HPV.
TeensHealth: Telling Your Partner You Have an STD (Nemours Foundation) – Article covers the topics of getting tested for STDs, and telling parents and new or current partners about an STD.
Making Safe Decisions
HealthyChildren.org: For Teens: How to Make Healthy Decisions About Sex (American Academy of Pediatrics) – This article covers making decisions of when to become sexually acitve, preventing STIs, types of birth control, and emergency contraception.
Making Healthy Sexual Decisions (Center for Young Women’s Health) – A guide to sexual decisions including things to think about before deciding to have sex, who to talk to about sex, and finding health care providers.
Dermatology A to Z (American Academy of Dermatology) – Covers diseases and treatments, health and beauty, and other dermatology topics for kids and adults. Includes videos and a free mobile app.
TeensHealth: Tips for Taking Care of Your Skin (Nemours Foundation) – Covers Acne, sun and skin issues, cold sores, Eczema, and other skin problems.
TeensHealth: Jock Itch (Nemours Foundation) – Describes Jock Itch, who gets it, signs and symptoms, getting rid of it, and prevention.
MedlinePlus: Drugs and Young People (National Library of Medicine) – Offers links to a wide range of federal government resources from basic to complex. Includes a summary, news, symptoms and treatments, as well as statistics and research.
NIDA for Teens (National Institute on Drug Abuse) – Contains a range of educational experiences to help teens learn about drugs and neuroscience. Includes games, interactive videos, blogs, and facts about drug abuse.
Office of Adolescent Health: Substance Abuse (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) – Covers alcohol, tobacco, illicit and non-illicit drug use, and substance abuse statistics by state.
TeensHealth: Drugs: What You Should Know (Nemours Foundation) – This article answers why people take drugs and covers some commonly abused drugs. Includes street names, how the drug is used, effects and dangers, and addictiveness.
I Think I May Have a Drinking/Drug Problem. What Should I Do? (Nemours Foundation) – Discusses warning signs, and provides links and a 1-800 number for help and recovery.
Tips for Teens, The Truth About . . . (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration SAMHSA) – A series of free printable pdf two-page brochures. Each print out features a commonly abused drug and provides facts and dispels myths about each drug. Discusses long- and short-term effects, physical and psychological implications, and warning signs of the drug’s use. Provides information for finding treatment.
© 2017 University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences | Little Rock, AR