Arkansas Historical Quarterly Index - Arkansas Historical Association - A cumulative index to the official publication of the Arkansas Historical Association, covering volumes 1-59, 1942-2000. This is a great resource in researching any aspect of Arkansas history.
Arkansas Photograph Collections -University of Arkansas Fayetteville - Welcome to the Inventory of Arkansas Photograph Collections. This Inventory was compiled by Professor Patsy Watkins, UA Department of Journalism; it is based on a similar project at Harvard University.
Arkansas State Archives - The Arkansas State Archives houses approximately 13,000 cubic feet of state records and manuscript collections pertaining to the history of Arkansas and its people. These materials have been described and inventoried for ease of access. These inventories, called finding aids, are keyword searchable.
Arkansas State Archives Digital Collections - Here you will find digitized documents, visuals, maps, broadsides, pamphlets, and three-dimensional objects significant to Arkansas history and culture, from the holdings of the Arkansas State Archives. New collections are always being added, so check back often to see what's new!
Encyclopedia of Arkansas - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas is a free, authoritative source of information about the rich history, geography, and culture of Arkansas. It is updated regularly to ensure the people of Arkansas have an accurate and accessible resource to explore our heritage. It will also benefit people outside the state who are seeking information about Arkansas.
Fort Smith Public Library - The Community History Archive section of the library's website contains digitized historical issues of the city's newspapers, including the Southwest American, Times Record, and the Fort Smith Elevator. The issues cover the years 1848 to 2019 and are keyword searchable.
Index Arkansas - Index Arkansas allows you to search across more than 100,000 citations to articles in county history journals, book chapters, newspaper stories, and more.
Pulaski County Historical Society - One of the oldest historical societies in the state, the PCHS sponsors regular programming and publishes the award-winning Pulaski County Historical Review journal. An index to the first 50 volumes of the Review is available online.
Washington County Historical Society - The oldest local historical society in the state, the WCHS sponsors regular programming and publishes the award-winning Flashback journal. Some back issues have been digitized and are available to read online.
American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation – Center for the History of Family Medicine - The Center for the History of Family Medicine (CHFM) is the primary repository of information and resources on the history and evolution of general practice, family practice and the specialty of Family Medicine in the United States.
Archives and Modern Manuscripts Program- National Library of Medicine - The NLM Archives and Modern Manuscripts Program oversees the collection and administration of archives and modern manuscripts that relate to the history of medicine. The collections include approximately 18,000 linear feet of material dating from the 17th century to the present. The collections are made up of organizational records and personal papers, oral histories, diaries, lecture notes, pharmacopoeias, herbals, treatises, and dissertations. Topics include the history of military medicine, biomedical science, and public health and disease. Also included are the internal records of NLM and other organizations relating to medical librarianship and medical informatics.
Barbara Bates Center for the Study of the History of Nursing – University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing - The Bates Center is the preeminent history of nursing research center and archive.
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics – Harvard’s Open Collections Program - This online collection offers important historical perspectives on the science and public policy of epidemiology today and contributes to the understanding of the global, social–history, and public–policy implications of diseases.
Department of Special Collections – Iowa State University - The Special Collections Department's subject area concentrations emanate from major research/education areas conducted at Iowa State University. They are documented through the identification and selection of rare and unique documentary materials created and accumulated by Iowa State University and its members as well as from individuals and organizations external to the university.
Historical archives of the National Museum of Health and Medicine of the Armed Forces - Historical Collections division includes artifacts documenting the material culture of medicine, with an emphasis on military medicine and federal government medicine. The collection contains approximately 15,000 objects ranging in size from a suture needle to a two-ton Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) magnet. The earliest objects date from circa 1660 (Robert Hooke Microscope) to medical instruments and equipment presently in use. The collection continues to serve as a Department of Defense resource for the study of how technology influences the practice of medicine.
History of Vaccines-College of Physicians of Philadelphia - The History of Vaccines explores the role of immunization in the human experience and examines its continuing contributions to public health.
International Museum of Surgical Science – WIRED Pictorial - From graphic paintings of childbirth to a vast collection of often-ghastly tools of the trade, the Surgical Museum is a morbidly fascinating journey into the blood-spattered beginnings of modern medicine.
Journal of the National Medical Association (1909-2007) – PubMed Central - The archive for this journal includes volumes 1-99. The journal no longer participates in PMC.
M. Lowell Edwards Public History Project – Oregon Health & Science University Library - M. Lowell Edwards (1898-1982) was an engineer, inventor and entrepreneur who spent most of his career in Oregon. With Albert Starr, MD, he co-invented the Starr-Edwards artificial heart valve. Their invention saved thousands of lives, and became a defining moment in the history of University of Oregon Medical School (now Oregon Health & Science University. OHSU holds archival and rare materials documenting Edwards’ innovative work. These unique resources include photographs, manuscripts, publications, and artifacts. OHSU Library also holds oral history interviews and research publications relating to the development of the Starr-Edwards heart valve.
The Medical Heritage Library - A digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries, promotes free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine.
Medical Humanities Dissertations – University of Pittsburg Health Sciences Library System - This guide is provided as a monthly current awareness service. Selected, recent doctoral dissertations are listed according to topic and the month of their discovery in Dissertation Abstracts. Authorized Pitt users may follow links from citations to corresponding records in the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database, where complete citations and abstracts may be viewed. When available, the entire item may be downloaded for free. For those without subscription access to ProQuest database of Digital Dissertations, individual dissertations may be purchased directly from ProQuest.
National Library of Medicine, History of Medicine Division – Finding Aids Consortium - A discovery tool providing keyword search services across a union catalog of finding aids describing archival collections broadly related to the history of medicine and its allied sciences. We currently index over 8,000 finding aids from 48 special collections and archival repositories throughout the U.S.
National Library of Medicine, History of Medicine Division – History of Medicine Finding Aids - NLM’s History of Medicine Division collects, preserves, makes available, and interprets for diverse audiences one of the world's richest collections of historical material related to human health and disease.
Palmer College of Chiropractic - Historical collections from the David D. Palmer Health Sciences Library which is part of the Palmer College of Chiropractic. Collections include special collection books and journals such as the Green Book, photographic, and digital collections.
Papers of Lawrence Kolb Sr., Addiction Research Pioneer - Narcotic Addiction and Mental Health: The Clinical Papers of Lawrence Kolb Sr., a searchable online collection of 15,000 images drawn from the personal and professional papers of a pioneer in the medical approach to narcotics addiction treatment, and in public health research and treatment of mental illness, is now freely available within the National Library of Medicine's History of Medicine reading room and via local libraries with subscriptions to Archives Unbound.
Rush University Medical Center Archives - The Rush University Medical Center Archives, Chicago, Ill., is the official archival agency of Rush University Medical Center and Rush University. The Rush Archives holds almost 3000 linear feet of material from these two institutions and their predecessor schools and hospitals going back to the founding of Rush Medical College in 1837, two days before the city of Chicago was incorporated. The Rush Archives also includes the personal papers of many individuals related to those institutions. Photographs, audiovisual material, paintings, artifacts, nursing school uniforms and caps, and digital assets document the history of Rush. The Rush Archives preserves, identifies, organizes, and provides access to records of long-term historical, evidential, and administrative value to the institution. We strive to tell the story of Rush and its esteemed history of education, research, and patient care in a meaningful way through our collections.
The State Historical Society of Missouri Digital Collections - The State Historical Society of Missouri Digital Collection provides online access to journals, photographs, newspapers, and oral histories telling the story of Missouri’s history, people, and culture.
UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health: Meeting the Public Health Challenges of the 21st Century – Online Exhibit -The exhibit also features historical materials about the School that are part of the Library’s Special Collections, including selections from the papers of Dr. Daniel Okun, digitized public health documents and journals, and more.
University of Michigan Center for the History of Medicine – The American Influenza Epidemic of 1918-1919: A Digital Encyclopedia - These pages contain the stories of the places, the people, and the organizations that battled the American influenza epidemic of 1918-1919.
US National Archives & Records Administration - The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
US Navy Bureau of Medicine and Surgery Collections - A historical component has existed at the US Navy's Bureau of Medicine and Surgery since May 1907 with the establishment of the Publications Office. In addition to producing The Naval Medical Bulletin, the Publications Office was responsible for producing occasional historical monographs, and maintaining a historical archive. Today the Office of Medical History's mission has evolved to preserve and promote the history and heritage of the Navy Medical Department while serving the needs of our customers. The collection consists of publications, public records, manuscripts, personal papers, hospital plans, Navy Hygiene Museum records, biographical files, subject files, facility files, films, videos, photographs, prints, drawings, and artifacts. The OMH currently consists of over 100 collections covering over 1,000 linear feet and is staffed by a historian and an archivist.
Wood Library – Museum of Anesthesiology - The Archive collection of the Wood Library-Museum of Anesthesiology is dedicated to acquiring, preserving and displaying archives related to the art, science, and history of anesthesia. The purpose of the collection is to document events in anesthesia history, provide a resource for scholars, and to illustrate the development of anesthesia. The collection includes, but is not limited to, letters, photographs, manuscripts, membership lists, minutes, organization records, medical records, anesthesia records, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, newsletters, legal documents, ephemera, and other items relevant to anesthesia and the medical specialty of Anesthesiology.
Bibliotheque Interuniversitaire de Medecine - Université Paris Descartes history of medicine collections.
California Pacific Medical Center Health Sciences Library - The Health Sciences Library acts as the repository for archival and historic materials of California Pacific Medical Center.
Dittrick Museum of Medical History (College of Arts and Science at Case Western Reserve University - The Dittrick Medical History Center welcomes the public, as well as the university community. A museum, archive, and collection of rare books, artifacts, and images, the Dittrick embraces the experience of individuals and society as they grappled with changing conceptions of health and medicine. Every artifact opens a door to unique stories, about patients, healers, and community. Read more about the museum and all that we have to offer here. Come learn about how medicine became modern!
Garrison-Morton Annotated Bibliography of the History of Medicine, Biology, & Dentistry 2000 BCE to 2000 AD - An Interactive Annotated Bibliography of the History of Medicine, Biology and Dentistry from Circa 2000 BCE to Circa 2000 by Fielding H. Garrison, Leslie T. Morton, and Jeremy M. Norman, Traditionally Known as “Garrison-Morton”
Greenblatt Library Historical Collections and Archives – Medical College of Georgia - The Historical Collections & Archives of the Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library is committed to acquiring, organizing, preserving, and making available historical collections related to the Medical College of Georgia, Georgia Health Sciences University, Augusta University, and the history of the health sciences. Historical Collections is dedicated to delivering quality service in support of historical and institutional research to Augusta University affiliates, health science professionals, and the community.
Historic Collections Pennsylvania Hospital - The richness of Pennsylvania Hospital's Historic Library is complemented by the scope of our other historic collections, which include archival materials, paintings, photographs and memorabilia. Historic materials are used regularly for research and educational exhibits.
Lothian Health Services Archives – Edinburgh University Library - Lothian Health Services Archive holds the historically important local records of NHS hospitals and other health-related material. We collect, preserve and catalogue these records and promote them to increase understanding of the history of health and for the benefit of all.
Medical Heritage Library at Internet Archive - The Medical Heritage Library (MHL), a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries, promotes free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine. Our goal is to provide the means by which readers and scholars across a multitude of disciplines can examine the interrelated nature of medicine and society, both to inform contemporary medicine and strengthen understanding of the world in which we live. The MHL’s growing collection of digitized medical rare books, pamphlets, journals, and films number in the tens of thousands, with representative works from each of the past six centuries, all of which are available here through the Internet Archive.
Medicine in the Americas: 1620-1920 (National Library of Medicine full-text digital collection) - Medicine in the Americas – a digital library project of the U.S. National Library of Medicine – consists of works which demonstrate the evolution of American medicine from seventeenth-century colonial frontier outposts to twentieth-century research hospitals. Drawing on the collections of NLM's History of Medicine Division, Medicine in the Americas encompasses works dating as early as 1610 and printed in the United States and around the New World, including Latin America, the Caribbean, and Canada.
National Library of Medicine, History of Medicine Division – Images of the History of Medicine - Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides online access to images from the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) historical collections. IHM is available through NLM’s Digital Collections, a free online resource of biomedical books and still and moving images. IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.
National Museum of Health & Medicine - Historical Collections division includes artifacts documenting the material culture of medicine, with an emphasis on military medicine and federal government medicine. The collection contains approximately 15,000 objects ranging in size from a suture needle to a two-ton Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) magnet. The earliest objects date from circa 1660 (Robert Hooke Microscope) to medical instruments and equipment presently in use. The collection continues to serve as a Department of Defense resource for the study of how technology influences the practice of medicine.
National Museum of Health and Medicine – Images on Flickr - Images from the museum's collection of photographs and artifacts.
Oregon Health & Science University Library Historical Collections & Archives - Historical Collections & Archives is the home of OHSU's collections of rare books, archives, manuscripts, and artifacts. Serving the OHSU community and the general public, HC&A supports education and research using these unique collections.We provide a full range of public services to support access to our collections. We also promote diverse and engaging perspectives on the history of health sciences through our exhibits, events, and the OHSU Oral History Program.
Osler Library of the History of Medicine – McGill University - The Osler Library is a major resource centre for historical research in the health sciences and is the international centre for the study of Sir William Osler and the Oslerian tradition. It supports students and teachers at McGill in the Department of Social Studies of Medicine, the Faculties of Medicine (including Schools of Nursing, Physical and Occupational Therapy, and Communication Sciences and Disorders) and Dentistry, and the Faculties of Arts and of Science. It is heavily used by researchers from McGill, Quebec, across Canada, and throughout the world.
Tompkins McCow Library for the Health Sciences Special Collections and Archives – Virginia Commonwealth University - Special Collections and Archives at Tompkins-McCaw Library for the Health Sciences houses archives, artifacts, books, manuscripts, photographs, portraits and prints related to the history of health care in Virginia. The archives for the MCV Campus are also located here.
University of Alabama at Birmingham Digital Collections - UAB Historical Collections is comprised of three units at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), the Alabama Museum of the Health Sciences, the Reynolds-Finley Historical Library, and the UAB Archives
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Health Sciences Library Special Collections - These materials range in date from the 1500s to the present day, encompassing the history of medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, nursing, public health, and the allied medical sciences. The history of the health sciences in North Carolina is strongly represented.
Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center Archives - The Dorothy Carpenter Medical Archives serves Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center as a permanent repository and reference center for documents – written, oral and visual. The purpose of the Archives is to provide reference services, maintain and collect materials, and tape oral histories. It is also the mission of the Archives to support and promote interest in the history and growth of the practice of medicine in North Carolina and to maintain collections of several medical associations.
Wellcome Digital Library - Wellcome Library is developing a world-class online resource for the history of medicine by digitising a substantial proportion of its holdings and making the content freely available on the web.
KidsCount Data Center-Health Indicator Statistics - KIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation to track the well-being of children in the United States. By providing high-quality data and trend analysis through its KIDS COUNT Data Center, the Foundation seeks to enrich local, state and national discussions concerning ways to secure better futures for all children — and to raise the visibility of children's issues through a nonpartisan, evidence-based lens. In addition to including data from the most trusted national resources, the KIDS COUNT Data Center draws from more than 50 KIDS COUNT state organizations that provide state and local data, as well publications providing insights into trends affecting child and family well-being. Through its National KIDS COUNT Project, the Foundation develops and distributes reports on important well-being issues. Much of the data from these nationally recognized publications, including the KIDS COUNT Data Book, are featured on the KIDS COUNT Data Center.
Project TYCHO – University of Pittsburg - Project Tycho® is a project at the University of Pittsburgh to advance the availability and use of public health data for science and policy making. Currently, the Project Tycho® database includes data from all weekly notifiable disease reports for the United States dating back to 1888. These data are freely available to anybody interested. Additional U.S. and international data will be released twice yearly.
© 2017 University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences | Little Rock, AR