Northwest Campus ABSN Online Resource Page
This page exists to assist ABSN students on the Northwest Campus with finding materials for their clinical, educational, and research needs.
All Semesters
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: Not on Northwest CampusISBN: 9781433832161
Summer I
Understanding Pathophysiology by
Make difficult pathophysiology concepts come to life! Filled with vibrant illustrations, simplified language, and detailed online content Understanding Pathophysiology, 7th Edition delivers the most accurate information on treatments, manifestations, and mechanisms of disease across the lifespan. This new edition is fully revised and includes coverage of rare diseases and epigenetics to you with a thorough understanding of conditions affecting the human body. Plus, with over 30 new 3D animations on the companion Evolve site, quick check boxes at the end of each chapter, and disease progression algorithms, this text helps you engage with the fundamental knowledge you need to succeed in nursing school and in practice.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 780323672818
Physical Examination and Health Assessment by
With an easy-to-follow approach and unmatched learning support, Jarvis's Physical Examination and Health Assessment, 8th Edition is the most authoritative, complete, and easily implemented solution for health assessment in nursing. This tightly integrated learning package continues to center on Carolyn Jarvis's trademark clear, logical, and holistic approach to physical examination and health assessment across the patient lifespan. It's packed with vivid illustrations, step-by-step guidance and evidence-based content to provide a complete approach to health assessment skills and physical examination. With a fresh focus on today's need-to-know information, the 8th edition integrates QSEN and interprofessional collaboration, features enhanced inclusion of LGBTQ considerations, includes a new standalone Vital Signs chapter, and provides enhanced EHR and documentation content. The most trusted name in health assessment for nurses, now in its 8th edition! A clear, conversational, step-by-step, evidence-based approach to physical examination and health assessment of patients throughout the lifespan. A consistent format from chapter to chapter features sections on Structure and Function, Subjective Data, Objective Data, Documentation and Critical Thinking, and Abnormal Findings to help you learn to assess systematically. UPDATED! An unsurpassed collection of more than 1,100 full-color illustrations has been updated to vividly showcase anatomy and physiology, examination techniques, and abnormal findings. Enhanced content on the electronic health record, charting, and narrative recording exemplify how to document assessment findings using state-of-the-art systems with time-tested thoroughness. Engaging learning resources include assessment video clips; NCLEX® Exam review questions; case studies with critical thinking activities; audio clips of heart, lung, and abdominal sounds; assessment checklists, and much more. Promoting a Healthy Lifestyle boxes present opportunities for patient teaching and health promotion while performing the health assessment. Developmental Competence sections highlight content specific to infants, children, adolescents, pregnant women, and older adults. Culture and Genetics sections include information on biocultural and transcultural variations in an increasingly diverse patient population. NEW! Standalone Vital Signs chapter and refocused nutrition content include an expanded emphasis on the national epidemic of obesity. NEW! Enhanced integration of QSEN and interprofessional collaboration emphasize how to ensure patient safety during the physical exam and how to collaborate with other health professionals to promote optimal health. NEW! Enhanced inclusion of LGBTQ issues and revamped and refocused Cultural Assessment chapter equip you with the skills to practice with greater sensitivity and inclusivity. NEW! Health Promotion and Patient Teaching sections underscore the unique role of nurses (especially advanced practice nurses) in health promotion.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 0323510809
Guide to the Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements by Call Number: Not on Northwest CampusISBN: 9781558106031
Concepts for Nursing Practice (with Access on VitalSource) by
Learn the core concepts of nursing care and apply them to the clinical setting! Concepts for Nursing Practice, 3rd Edition uses a simplified, intuitive approach to describe 57 important concepts relating to all areas of nursing practice. For easier understanding, this book also makes connections among related concepts and links you to other nursing textbooks. Exemplars for each concept provide useful examples and models, showing how concepts are successfully applied to practice. New to this edition are updated research evidence and a new Population Health concept. Written by conceptual learning expert Jean Giddens, this text will help you build clinical reasoning skills and prepare confidently for almost any clinical nursing situation. Authoritative content written by expert contributors and meticulously edited by concept-based learning expert Jean Giddens sets the standard for the rapidly growing concept-based curriculum movement. A total of 57 important nursing concepts are clearly defined and analyzed, spanning the areas of patient physiology, patient behavior, and the professional nursing environment. Case studies in each chapter make it easier to apply knowledge of nursing concepts to real-world situations. UNIQUE! Featured Exemplars sections describe selected exemplars related to each nursing concept, covering the entire lifespan and all clinical settings, and help you assimilate concepts into practice. UNIQUE! Logical framework of concepts by units and themes helps you form immediate connections among related concepts --- a key to conceptual learning. UNIQUE! Interrelated Concepts illustrations provide visual cues to understanding and help you make connections across concepts. NEW! UPDATED content reflects the latest research evidence and national and international practice guidelines. NEW! Population Health concept reflects the future of nursing, in which health care organizations learn to deliver care that is high in quality, patient-centered, cost-effective, and evidence-based. NEW! Featured Exemplars sections provide a brief explanation of some of the most important exemplars. NEW! Discussion questions in case studies reinforce your understanding of each concept. NEW! UPDATED exemplar links connect you to concept exemplars in other RN- and LPN/LVN-level Elsevier nursing titles.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 9780323581936
Fundamentals of Nursing by
Build a solid foundation in the knowledge and skills you need to succeed as a nurse! Designed specifically for today's students, Fundamentals of Nursing, 3rd Edition takes a fresh, conversational approach that is friendlier than typical books on nursing fundamentals. To make understanding easier, the book introduces basic information first and then follows with progressively more nuanced and complex nursing concepts. Practical exercises provide a unique kind of active learning, allowing you to apply concepts to actual patient care. Even care planning is different, as authors Barbara L. Yoost and Lynne R. Crawford are pioneers of conceptual care mapping - a visual, holistic way of making clinical judgments and planning patient care. Essentially, this text offers an easier, fundamentally different way to learn the nursing profession! UNIQUE! Building-block approach uses review questions and exam questions tied to learning objectives, starting at lower Bloom's taxonomy levels in the early chapters and building to more complex levels as you acquire more knowledge. UNIQUE! Warm, friendly writing style introduces concepts and terms more slowly, giving you time to practice, think critically, and gain mastery. Case studies open each chapter with real-world scenarios, helping you build analytical, critical thinking, and clinical judgment skills. Coverage of complementary therapies is integrated throughout the text, reflecting changes to the NCLEX® exam. Emphasis on assignment and delegation describes the differences between the two skills, and how and when they are appropriate for an RN. UNIQUE! Objective-driven approach presents clearly defined, numbered learning objectives that coordinate with all content and then wrap up with Objective Summaries. UNIQUE! Active learning activities help you apply chapter content to broader nursing concepts and realistic patient scenarios. UNIQUE! Conceptual care mapping is used throughout the text in conjunction with the Conceptual Care Map creator to help you develop clinical judgment and plans of care. Boxed features cover the areas of interprofessional collaboration and delegation, ethical and legal practice, patient education and healthy literacy, health assessment questions, diversity considerations, evidence-based practice and informatics, home care considerations, QSEN, and safe practice alerts. NEW! Clinical Judgment in Nursing chapter introduces the concept of clinical judgment and the six NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model Skills. NEW! Clinical judgment steps are integrated within the nursing process.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 9780323828093
Mulholland's the Nurse, the Math, the Meds by
540 pages UNIQUE! Useful FAQs and answers in each chapter are based on years of classroom questions compiled by the author. UNIQUE! Communication boxes show sample nurse-patient and nurse-prescriber dialogues, relating the math to the medications and to clinical application. UNIQUE! Ask Yourself questions help you synthesize information and reinforce your comprehension. Rapid Practice quizzes provide practice problems following each new topic, making it easy to master both math concepts and drug calculation at the same time. Mnemonics offer shortcuts to make memorization easier, and save time in learning. Red arrow alerts call attention to potential math errors and patient safety issues. High-risk drug icons are used to highlight potentially dangerous drugs. Multiple choice-format questions at the end of each chapter help you review the material and prepare for the NCLEX® exam. Chapter finals boost your understanding by providing additional practice with the major concepts covered in each chapter; the answer key shows how to work out the problems. Comprehensive final practice boosts your understanding by providing additional practice with the major concepts covered through the entire text; the answer key shows how to work out the problems. NEW and Updated! Safety-related procedures and protocols include the newest ISMP, JCAHO, and QSEN safety standards and new content on drug calculations. NEW and Updated! Photos and medication labels ensure that you are up to date on today's medications. NEW! SBAR information describes Situation, Background, Assessment, Recommendation in Metric Units and Conversions chapter. NEW information on health care provider orders is added to Oral Medications chapter. NEW table of insulins and their uses is included in Antidiabetic Medications chapter. NEW content on thrombolytics, clotting inhibitors, anti-platelet aggregants, and herbal supplements is included in Anticoagulant Medications chapter.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 0323479502
Fall I
- Guide to the Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements by Call Number: Not on Northwest CampusISBN: 9781558106031
- Concepts for Nursing Practice (with Access on VitalSource) by
Learn the core concepts of nursing care and apply them to the clinical setting! Concepts for Nursing Practice, 3rd Edition uses a simplified, intuitive approach to describe 57 important concepts relating to all areas of nursing practice. For easier understanding, this book also makes connections among related concepts and links you to other nursing textbooks. Exemplars for each concept provide useful examples and models, showing how concepts are successfully applied to practice. New to this edition are updated research evidence and a new Population Health concept. Written by conceptual learning expert Jean Giddens, this text will help you build clinical reasoning skills and prepare confidently for almost any clinical nursing situation. Authoritative content written by expert contributors and meticulously edited by concept-based learning expert Jean Giddens sets the standard for the rapidly growing concept-based curriculum movement. A total of 57 important nursing concepts are clearly defined and analyzed, spanning the areas of patient physiology, patient behavior, and the professional nursing environment. Case studies in each chapter make it easier to apply knowledge of nursing concepts to real-world situations. UNIQUE! Featured Exemplars sections describe selected exemplars related to each nursing concept, covering the entire lifespan and all clinical settings, and help you assimilate concepts into practice. UNIQUE! Logical framework of concepts by units and themes helps you form immediate connections among related concepts --- a key to conceptual learning. UNIQUE! Interrelated Concepts illustrations provide visual cues to understanding and help you make connections across concepts. NEW! UPDATED content reflects the latest research evidence and national and international practice guidelines. NEW! Population Health concept reflects the future of nursing, in which health care organizations learn to deliver care that is high in quality, patient-centered, cost-effective, and evidence-based. NEW! Featured Exemplars sections provide a brief explanation of some of the most important exemplars. NEW! Discussion questions in case studies reinforce your understanding of each concept. NEW! UPDATED exemplar links connect you to concept exemplars in other RN- and LPN/LVN-level Elsevier nursing titles.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 9780323581936
- Fundamentals of Nursing by
Build a solid foundation in the knowledge and skills you need to succeed as a nurse! Designed specifically for today's students, Fundamentals of Nursing, 3rd Edition takes a fresh, conversational approach that is friendlier than typical books on nursing fundamentals. To make understanding easier, the book introduces basic information first and then follows with progressively more nuanced and complex nursing concepts. Practical exercises provide a unique kind of active learning, allowing you to apply concepts to actual patient care. Even care planning is different, as authors Barbara L. Yoost and Lynne R. Crawford are pioneers of conceptual care mapping - a visual, holistic way of making clinical judgments and planning patient care. Essentially, this text offers an easier, fundamentally different way to learn the nursing profession! UNIQUE! Building-block approach uses review questions and exam questions tied to learning objectives, starting at lower Bloom's taxonomy levels in the early chapters and building to more complex levels as you acquire more knowledge. UNIQUE! Warm, friendly writing style introduces concepts and terms more slowly, giving you time to practice, think critically, and gain mastery. Case studies open each chapter with real-world scenarios, helping you build analytical, critical thinking, and clinical judgment skills. Coverage of complementary therapies is integrated throughout the text, reflecting changes to the NCLEX® exam. Emphasis on assignment and delegation describes the differences between the two skills, and how and when they are appropriate for an RN. UNIQUE! Objective-driven approach presents clearly defined, numbered learning objectives that coordinate with all content and then wrap up with Objective Summaries. UNIQUE! Active learning activities help you apply chapter content to broader nursing concepts and realistic patient scenarios. UNIQUE! Conceptual care mapping is used throughout the text in conjunction with the Conceptual Care Map creator to help you develop clinical judgment and plans of care. Boxed features cover the areas of interprofessional collaboration and delegation, ethical and legal practice, patient education and healthy literacy, health assessment questions, diversity considerations, evidence-based practice and informatics, home care considerations, QSEN, and safe practice alerts. NEW! Clinical Judgment in Nursing chapter introduces the concept of clinical judgment and the six NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model Skills. NEW! Clinical judgment steps are integrated within the nursing process.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 9780323828093
Nursing Today by
Loved for its humor, readability, and inviting cartoons, Nursing Today: Transitions and Trends, 9th Edition helps you prepare for the NCLEX-RN® Examination - while giving you valuable information to succeed in your professional career. It reflects current issues and trending topics that nurses will face, ensuring that you graduate not only with patient care skills, but also with career development skills such as resume writing, finding a job, and effective interviewing. This edition features test-taking tips for the NCLEX-RN® Examination and updated Evolve resources for students, including review questions and case studies. Thorough coverage of all the most important issues faced by the new nurse, preparing you for a professional career. An engaging approach features lively cartoons, chapter objectives, bibliographies, and colorful summary boxes. An emphasis on making the transition into the workplace is included in chapters such as NCLEX-RN and the New Graduate, Employment Considerations: Opportunities, Resumes, and Interviewing, and Mentorship and Preceptorship. Critical Thinking boxes in every chapter offer questions and exercises asking you to apply what you have learned to clinical practice. Evidence-Based Practice boxes, and evidence-based practice content throughout, focus your attention on the research evidence that supports clinical practice. Content on the role of nursing includes changes related to the BSN in 10 campaign and how these might affect entry into practice, as well as differentiated nursing practice models. Mentoring and preceptorship content discusses preceptorships as a capstone course versus a formalized preceptorship or nurse externship in which a student is employed by a healthcare facility, as well as the advantages of and tips for getting a nurse externship while in nursing school. NEW and UPDATED! Thoroughly updated content throughout with new information on areas such as: 2016 NCLEX test plan and pass/fail determinates by level of difficulty, interprofessional education, serious reportable events and never events, and nursing responsibilities in spiritual care. UPDATED! New content on leadership and followership features professional models of nursing practice like medical or health homes and nurse-managed health centers. EXPANDED! Added QSEN competencies related to effective communication, team building, evidence-based practice, patient safety, and quality assurance highlighted throughout. UPDATED and IMPROVED! Section restructuring makes this edition even easier to follow. UPDATED! Evolve resources for students include review questions and case studies.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 0323401686
Pharmacology and the Nursing Process by
Gain the pharmacology knowledge and skills you need to administer medications safely! Pharmacology and the Nursing Process, 10th Edition provides practical, easy-to-use pharmacology information, emphasizing the application of the nursing process and prioritization throughout the book. Coverage begins with pharmacology basics, then discusses drugs by body systems and drug functions. Hundreds of full-color illustrations show how drugs work in the body and depict key steps in medication administration. Written by pharmacology experts Linda Lane Lilley, Shelly Rainforth Collins, and Julie S. Snyder, this bestselling textbook makes it easy to understand and apply pharmacology concepts and provide safe, quality nursing care. Focus on need-to-know information includes discussions of what nurses may encounter during drug administration in a variety of health care settings, providing accounts of real-life medication errors and tips for avoiding those errors. The Nursing Process is applied to each category of drugs, ensuring that you administer medications accurately and safely, and includes the steps of assessment, human need statements, planning, implementation, and evaluation. Emphasis on drug classes describes key similarities and differences among the drugs in each class, making it easier to understand how individual drugs work in the body. Consistent presentation for each drug group includes the mechanism of action, indications, contraindications, adverse effects, interactions, and dosages, concluding with drug profiles of individual drugs in the class or group. High-alert icons identify medications that pose a greater risk to patient safety. Focus on prioritization includes prioritized nursing diagnoses along with a corresponding prioritization of goals and outcomes, to help you learn to connect nursing diagnoses with goals and outcomes. Ease of readability makes difficult content more understandable. Photo atlas features more than 100 drawings and photographs showing drug administration techniques. Dosages tables summarize generic and trade names, pharmacologic class, normal dosage ranges, and indications for the drugs. Learning features at the beginning of each chapter include objectives and key terms, and at the end of each chapter, key points, critical thinking questions, review questions, and a list of resources available on the Evolve website. QSEN coverage includes the use of human need theory with human need statements, case studies featuring collaboration and teamwork content, Preventing Medication Errors boxes, and a discussion of the QSEN initiative as it relates to the safety and quality of patient care. NEW! Updated drug content reflects the latest FDA drug approvals, withdrawals, and therapeutic uses, and includes updated nursing content.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 0323827977- Mulholland's the Nurse, the Math, the Meds by
540 pages UNIQUE! Useful FAQs and answers in each chapter are based on years of classroom questions compiled by the author. UNIQUE! Communication boxes show sample nurse-patient and nurse-prescriber dialogues, relating the math to the medications and to clinical application. UNIQUE! Ask Yourself questions help you synthesize information and reinforce your comprehension. Rapid Practice quizzes provide practice problems following each new topic, making it easy to master both math concepts and drug calculation at the same time. Mnemonics offer shortcuts to make memorization easier, and save time in learning. Red arrow alerts call attention to potential math errors and patient safety issues. High-risk drug icons are used to highlight potentially dangerous drugs. Multiple choice-format questions at the end of each chapter help you review the material and prepare for the NCLEX® exam. Chapter finals boost your understanding by providing additional practice with the major concepts covered in each chapter; the answer key shows how to work out the problems. Comprehensive final practice boosts your understanding by providing additional practice with the major concepts covered through the entire text; the answer key shows how to work out the problems. NEW and Updated! Safety-related procedures and protocols include the newest ISMP, JCAHO, and QSEN safety standards and new content on drug calculations. NEW and Updated! Photos and medication labels ensure that you are up to date on today's medications. NEW! SBAR information describes Situation, Background, Assessment, Recommendation in Metric Units and Conversions chapter. NEW information on health care provider orders is added to Oral Medications chapter. NEW table of insulins and their uses is included in Antidiabetic Medications chapter. NEW content on thrombolytics, clotting inhibitors, anti-platelet aggregants, and herbal supplements is included in Anticoagulant Medications chapter.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 0323479502
Medical-Surgical Nursing by
NEW! Strengthened conceptual approach with data-driven Concept and Exemplar selections adds the concepts of pain, inflammation, and infection, and presents Exemplar disorders with a full nursing-process format and extra depth to help prepare you for the Next Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN). NEW and UNIQUE! Enhanced focus on clinical judgment and systems thinking ensures alignment with the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Model and emphasizes the six cognitive skills you''ll need for effective clinical judgment, for the NGN, and for safe clinical practice. NEW and UNIQUE! Emphasis on NGN preparation includes chapter-opening Learning Outcomes and chapter-ending Get Ready for the NCLEX Examination! sections, plus NCLEX Examination Challenge questions and new chapter-ending Mastery Questions, with an answer key in the back of the book and on the companion Evolve website. UNIQUE! Interprofessional collaborative approach to care views medical and nursing management through the lens of the nursing process and the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Model and aligns with the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC) Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice. NEW! Emphasis on need-to-know content provides a solid foundation for beginning nurse generalists, including only the most important patient problems for each medical condition, with streamlined chapters and concise coverage of nursing skills for preoperative and postoperative care. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest national and international evidence-based guidelines and protocols. NEW! Improved learning resources on Evolve are thoroughly updated and closely integrated with the textbook. NEW! Interprofessional Collaboration boxes highlight how the nurse collaborates with other members of the healthcare team. NEW! Ethical/Legal Considerations boxes address dilemmas that medical-surgical nurses face related to technological changes and socioeconomic disparities. NEW! Increased emphasis on home care, health promotion, and community-based care reflects the ongoing shift of care from hospitals to the home environment. NEW! Updated illustrations include new anatomy and physiology images, procedure images, and disorder photos. NEW! Updated drug tables are designed for quick reference and the use of drug trade names is eliminated for better alignment with the NGN. NEW! Coverage of opioid use disorder is updated to reflect the opioid crisis in the U.S. NEW! Content on personal safety and preparedness for mass casualty events has been expanded to equip you for the realities of healthcare today. NEW! Key terms and definitions at the beginning of each chapter give you advance familiarity with essential terminology. NEW! Revised Key Points align closely with Learning Outcomes and each includes a QSEN or Clinical Nursing Concept "tag" to maximize your study efficiency. Consistent use of interprofessional terminology promotes interprofessional collaboration through the use of a common healthcare language, instead of using isolated nursing-specific diagnostic language. UNIQUE! Enhanced conceptual approach to learning integrates nursing concepts and exemplars, providing a foundation in professional nursing concepts and health and illness concepts, and showing their application in each chapter. Unparalleled emphasis on clinical reasoning and clinical judgment helps you develop these vital skills when applying concepts to clinical situations. Emphasis on QSEN and patient safety focuses on safety and evidence-based practice with Nursing Safety Priority boxes, including Drug Alert, Critical Rescue, and Action Alert boxes. Direct, easy-to-read writing style features concise sentences and straightforward vocabulary. Emphasis on health promotion and community-based care reflects the reality that most adult health care takes place in environments outside of high-acuity (hospital) settings. NEW! Strengthened conceptual approach with data-driven Concept and Exemplar selections adds the concepts of pain, inflammation, and infection, and presents Exemplar disorders with a nursing-process format and depth to help prepare you for the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN). NEW and UNIQUE! Enhanced focus on clinical judgment and systems thinking ensures alignment with the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Model and emphasizes the six cognitive skills you''ll need for effective clinical judgment, for the NGN, and for safe clinical practice. NEW! Emphasis on need-to-know content provides a solid foundation for beginning nurse generalists, including only the most important patient problems for each medical condition, with streamlined chapters and concise coverage of nursing skills for preoperative and postoperative care. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest national and international evidence-based guidelines and protocols. NEW! Improved learning resources on the companion Evolve website are thoroughly updated and closely integrated with the textbook. NEW! Interprofessional Collaboration boxes highlight how the nurse collaborates with other members of the healthcare team. NEW! Ethical/Legal Considerations boxes address dilemmas that medical-surgical nurses face related to technological changes and socioeconomic disparities. NEW! Increased emphasis on home care, health promotion, and community-based care reflects the ongoing shift of care from hospitals to the home environment. NEW! Updated illustrations include new anatomy and physiology images, procedure images, and disorder photos. NEW! Updated drug tables are designed for quick reference and the use of drug trade names is eliminated for better alignment with the NGN. NEW! Coverage of opioid misuse is updated to reflect the opioid crisis in the U.S. NEW! Content on personal safety and preparedness for mass casualty events has been expanded to equip you for the realities of healthcare today. NEW! Key terms and definitions at the beginning of each chapter give you advance familiarity with essential terminology. NEW! Revised Key Points align closely with Learning Outcomes and each includes a QSEN or Clinical Nursing Concept "tag" to maximize your study efficiency. NEW! Simplified and streamlined chapters make the book easier to use and information easier to find.
ISBN: 9780323612418
Fall II
Nursing Research Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice by
Learn to better understand and apply research to everyday practice with Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 9th Edition. Written by an all-star team of educators and research experts, this four-time recipient of the American Journal of Nursing’s Book of the Year award is the perfect resource to help ground you in the processes behind nursing research and evidence-based practice. This new ninth edition has been thoroughly updated and refocused to better match the needs of the nurse who will read and apply research rather than conduct research. This new edition also features: new research examples and vignettes; easy-to-use navigation tools; enhanced readability; expanded information on interprofessional collaboration and evidence-based practice; and well-balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methods. It’s a must-have resource for both undergraduate and graduate nursing programs alike!
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 9780323447652- Pharmacology and the Nursing Process by
Gain the pharmacology knowledge and skills you need to administer medications safely! Pharmacology and the Nursing Process, 10th Edition provides practical, easy-to-use pharmacology information, emphasizing the application of the nursing process and prioritization throughout the book. Coverage begins with pharmacology basics, then discusses drugs by body systems and drug functions. Hundreds of full-color illustrations show how drugs work in the body and depict key steps in medication administration. Written by pharmacology experts Linda Lane Lilley, Shelly Rainforth Collins, and Julie S. Snyder, this bestselling textbook makes it easy to understand and apply pharmacology concepts and provide safe, quality nursing care. Focus on need-to-know information includes discussions of what nurses may encounter during drug administration in a variety of health care settings, providing accounts of real-life medication errors and tips for avoiding those errors. The Nursing Process is applied to each category of drugs, ensuring that you administer medications accurately and safely, and includes the steps of assessment, human need statements, planning, implementation, and evaluation. Emphasis on drug classes describes key similarities and differences among the drugs in each class, making it easier to understand how individual drugs work in the body. Consistent presentation for each drug group includes the mechanism of action, indications, contraindications, adverse effects, interactions, and dosages, concluding with drug profiles of individual drugs in the class or group. High-alert icons identify medications that pose a greater risk to patient safety. Focus on prioritization includes prioritized nursing diagnoses along with a corresponding prioritization of goals and outcomes, to help you learn to connect nursing diagnoses with goals and outcomes. Ease of readability makes difficult content more understandable. Photo atlas features more than 100 drawings and photographs showing drug administration techniques. Dosages tables summarize generic and trade names, pharmacologic class, normal dosage ranges, and indications for the drugs. Learning features at the beginning of each chapter include objectives and key terms, and at the end of each chapter, key points, critical thinking questions, review questions, and a list of resources available on the Evolve website. QSEN coverage includes the use of human need theory with human need statements, case studies featuring collaboration and teamwork content, Preventing Medication Errors boxes, and a discussion of the QSEN initiative as it relates to the safety and quality of patient care. NEW! Updated drug content reflects the latest FDA drug approvals, withdrawals, and therapeutic uses, and includes updated nursing content.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 0323827977
- Mulholland's the Nurse, the Math, the Meds by
540 pages UNIQUE! Useful FAQs and answers in each chapter are based on years of classroom questions compiled by the author. UNIQUE! Communication boxes show sample nurse-patient and nurse-prescriber dialogues, relating the math to the medications and to clinical application. UNIQUE! Ask Yourself questions help you synthesize information and reinforce your comprehension. Rapid Practice quizzes provide practice problems following each new topic, making it easy to master both math concepts and drug calculation at the same time. Mnemonics offer shortcuts to make memorization easier, and save time in learning. Red arrow alerts call attention to potential math errors and patient safety issues. High-risk drug icons are used to highlight potentially dangerous drugs. Multiple choice-format questions at the end of each chapter help you review the material and prepare for the NCLEX® exam. Chapter finals boost your understanding by providing additional practice with the major concepts covered in each chapter; the answer key shows how to work out the problems. Comprehensive final practice boosts your understanding by providing additional practice with the major concepts covered through the entire text; the answer key shows how to work out the problems. NEW and Updated! Safety-related procedures and protocols include the newest ISMP, JCAHO, and QSEN safety standards and new content on drug calculations. NEW and Updated! Photos and medication labels ensure that you are up to date on today's medications. NEW! SBAR information describes Situation, Background, Assessment, Recommendation in Metric Units and Conversions chapter. NEW information on health care provider orders is added to Oral Medications chapter. NEW table of insulins and their uses is included in Antidiabetic Medications chapter. NEW content on thrombolytics, clotting inhibitors, anti-platelet aggregants, and herbal supplements is included in Anticoagulant Medications chapter.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 0323479502
- Concepts for Nursing Practice (with Access on VitalSource) by
Learn the core concepts of nursing care and apply them to the clinical setting! Concepts for Nursing Practice, 3rd Edition uses a simplified, intuitive approach to describe 57 important concepts relating to all areas of nursing practice. For easier understanding, this book also makes connections among related concepts and links you to other nursing textbooks. Exemplars for each concept provide useful examples and models, showing how concepts are successfully applied to practice. New to this edition are updated research evidence and a new Population Health concept. Written by conceptual learning expert Jean Giddens, this text will help you build clinical reasoning skills and prepare confidently for almost any clinical nursing situation. Authoritative content written by expert contributors and meticulously edited by concept-based learning expert Jean Giddens sets the standard for the rapidly growing concept-based curriculum movement. A total of 57 important nursing concepts are clearly defined and analyzed, spanning the areas of patient physiology, patient behavior, and the professional nursing environment. Case studies in each chapter make it easier to apply knowledge of nursing concepts to real-world situations. UNIQUE! Featured Exemplars sections describe selected exemplars related to each nursing concept, covering the entire lifespan and all clinical settings, and help you assimilate concepts into practice. UNIQUE! Logical framework of concepts by units and themes helps you form immediate connections among related concepts --- a key to conceptual learning. UNIQUE! Interrelated Concepts illustrations provide visual cues to understanding and help you make connections across concepts. NEW! UPDATED content reflects the latest research evidence and national and international practice guidelines. NEW! Population Health concept reflects the future of nursing, in which health care organizations learn to deliver care that is high in quality, patient-centered, cost-effective, and evidence-based. NEW! Featured Exemplars sections provide a brief explanation of some of the most important exemplars. NEW! Discussion questions in case studies reinforce your understanding of each concept. NEW! UPDATED exemplar links connect you to concept exemplars in other RN- and LPN/LVN-level Elsevier nursing titles.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 9780323581936
Maternal Child Nursing Care by
This market-leading textbook provides just the "right amount" of maternity and pediatric content in an easy-to-understand manner. Divided into two sections, the first part of the book includes 28 chapters on maternity nursing and the second part contains 27 chapters covering pediatric nursing. Numerous illustrations, photos, boxes, and tables clarify key content and help you quickly find essential information. And because it's written by market-leading experts in maternity and pediatric nursing, you can be sure you're getting the accurate, practical information you need to succeed in the classroom, the clinical setting, and on the NCLEX® examination. UNIQUE! Nursing Alerts point out critical information to consider when caring for patients. UNIQUE! Guidelines boxes outline instructions for skills or procedures in an easy-to-follow, step-by-step format. UNIQUE! Emergency boxes offer quick reference to emergency procedures for critical maternity and pediatric emergencies. UNIQUE! Home Care boxes offer helpful guidelines for delivering effective care in the home environment. UNIQUE! Atraumatic Care boxes in the pediatric section illustrate how to provide competent nursing care without creating undue physical or psychological stress for pediatric patients, families, and nurses. UNIQUE! Community Focus boxes examine community issues and provide resources and guidance on caring for families outside the clinical setting. UNIQUE! Cultural Awareness boxes address culturally competent care for patients with a variety of customs and beliefs. UNIQUE! Family-Centered Care boxes discuss the family's role and needs in caring for the patient. UNIQUE! Nursing Process boxes offer quick access to nursing process information for major diseases and conditions. Critical Thinking Exercises provide case scenarios to promote sound clinical decision making. Nursing Care Plans include rationales for interventions and provide specific guidelines for delivering effective nursing care. Patient Teaching boxes highlight important information for communicating continuing care instructions to patients and families. New and consolidated content on pain assessment and management focuses on this key aspect of pediatric nursing. Updated content on evidence-based practice illustrates how current research can be used to improve patient outcomes. The latest information in the field is included throughout, including expanded coverage of the late preterm infant and fetal heart rate pattern identification.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 0323057209
Spring I
- Concepts for Nursing Practice (with Access on VitalSource) by
Learn the core concepts of nursing care and apply them to the clinical setting! Concepts for Nursing Practice, 3rd Edition uses a simplified, intuitive approach to describe 57 important concepts relating to all areas of nursing practice. For easier understanding, this book also makes connections among related concepts and links you to other nursing textbooks. Exemplars for each concept provide useful examples and models, showing how concepts are successfully applied to practice. New to this edition are updated research evidence and a new Population Health concept. Written by conceptual learning expert Jean Giddens, this text will help you build clinical reasoning skills and prepare confidently for almost any clinical nursing situation. Authoritative content written by expert contributors and meticulously edited by concept-based learning expert Jean Giddens sets the standard for the rapidly growing concept-based curriculum movement. A total of 57 important nursing concepts are clearly defined and analyzed, spanning the areas of patient physiology, patient behavior, and the professional nursing environment. Case studies in each chapter make it easier to apply knowledge of nursing concepts to real-world situations. UNIQUE! Featured Exemplars sections describe selected exemplars related to each nursing concept, covering the entire lifespan and all clinical settings, and help you assimilate concepts into practice. UNIQUE! Logical framework of concepts by units and themes helps you form immediate connections among related concepts --- a key to conceptual learning. UNIQUE! Interrelated Concepts illustrations provide visual cues to understanding and help you make connections across concepts. NEW! UPDATED content reflects the latest research evidence and national and international practice guidelines. NEW! Population Health concept reflects the future of nursing, in which health care organizations learn to deliver care that is high in quality, patient-centered, cost-effective, and evidence-based. NEW! Featured Exemplars sections provide a brief explanation of some of the most important exemplars. NEW! Discussion questions in case studies reinforce your understanding of each concept. NEW! UPDATED exemplar links connect you to concept exemplars in other RN- and LPN/LVN-level Elsevier nursing titles.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 9780323581936
Varcarolis' Foundations of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing by
Using a practical clinical perspective, Varcarolis' Foundations of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing: A Clinical Approach, 7th Edition provides a clear understanding of the often-intimidating subject of psychiatric mental health nursing. Clinical chapters follow the nursing process framework and progress from theory to application, preparing you for practice with real-world examples. New to this edition are the latest DSM-5 guidelines along with coverage of trauma, pediatric mental health, and QSEN competencies. From new lead author Dr. Margaret Jordan Halter, this comprehensive RN psychiatric nursing text is a bestseller! Reader-friendly features reinforce important information and help in applying textbook content to the clinical setting, emphasizing key terms and concepts, key points to remember, critical thinking, and chapter reviews. Assessment Guidelines boxes provide specific instructions for diagnosis and treatment. Health Policy boxes addresses important Healthy People 2010 issues to increase clinical awareness. Considering Culture boxes discuss the importance of cultural considerations in providing competent care to diverse populations in various clinical situations. Coverage of NIC and NOC provides the basic understanding of NIC and NOC methods of documenting patient care necessary at the RN level. Clinical chapters follow the six-step nursing process, providing consistent guidelines for comprehensive assessment and intervention. NEW DSM-5 guidelines from the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders are fully incorporated in the text, and include updated NANDA content. NEW coverage of QSEN competencies highlights topics such as safety, communication, and evidence-based practice. NEW coverage of trauma, stressor-related, and dissociative disorders discusses how to deal with common reactions the nurse may experience while working with a patient who has suffered trauma. NEW content on child and adolescent psychiatric mental health nursing addresses neurodevelopmental disorders in pediatric patients. NEW coverage of key topics and emerging nursing trends help you stay current with best practices in the field, including an illness prevention approach to psychiatric disorders and an increased focus on genetics and genomics. NEW photos and illustrations depict and clarify key concepts.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 1455753580- Medical-Surgical Nursing by
NEW! Strengthened conceptual approach with data-driven Concept and Exemplar selections adds the concepts of pain, inflammation, and infection, and presents Exemplar disorders with a full nursing-process format and extra depth to help prepare you for the Next Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN). NEW and UNIQUE! Enhanced focus on clinical judgment and systems thinking ensures alignment with the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Model and emphasizes the six cognitive skills you''ll need for effective clinical judgment, for the NGN, and for safe clinical practice. NEW and UNIQUE! Emphasis on NGN preparation includes chapter-opening Learning Outcomes and chapter-ending Get Ready for the NCLEX Examination! sections, plus NCLEX Examination Challenge questions and new chapter-ending Mastery Questions, with an answer key in the back of the book and on the companion Evolve website. UNIQUE! Interprofessional collaborative approach to care views medical and nursing management through the lens of the nursing process and the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Model and aligns with the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC) Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice. NEW! Emphasis on need-to-know content provides a solid foundation for beginning nurse generalists, including only the most important patient problems for each medical condition, with streamlined chapters and concise coverage of nursing skills for preoperative and postoperative care. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest national and international evidence-based guidelines and protocols. NEW! Improved learning resources on Evolve are thoroughly updated and closely integrated with the textbook. NEW! Interprofessional Collaboration boxes highlight how the nurse collaborates with other members of the healthcare team. NEW! Ethical/Legal Considerations boxes address dilemmas that medical-surgical nurses face related to technological changes and socioeconomic disparities. NEW! Increased emphasis on home care, health promotion, and community-based care reflects the ongoing shift of care from hospitals to the home environment. NEW! Updated illustrations include new anatomy and physiology images, procedure images, and disorder photos. NEW! Updated drug tables are designed for quick reference and the use of drug trade names is eliminated for better alignment with the NGN. NEW! Coverage of opioid use disorder is updated to reflect the opioid crisis in the U.S. NEW! Content on personal safety and preparedness for mass casualty events has been expanded to equip you for the realities of healthcare today. NEW! Key terms and definitions at the beginning of each chapter give you advance familiarity with essential terminology. NEW! Revised Key Points align closely with Learning Outcomes and each includes a QSEN or Clinical Nursing Concept "tag" to maximize your study efficiency. Consistent use of interprofessional terminology promotes interprofessional collaboration through the use of a common healthcare language, instead of using isolated nursing-specific diagnostic language. UNIQUE! Enhanced conceptual approach to learning integrates nursing concepts and exemplars, providing a foundation in professional nursing concepts and health and illness concepts, and showing their application in each chapter. Unparalleled emphasis on clinical reasoning and clinical judgment helps you develop these vital skills when applying concepts to clinical situations. Emphasis on QSEN and patient safety focuses on safety and evidence-based practice with Nursing Safety Priority boxes, including Drug Alert, Critical Rescue, and Action Alert boxes. Direct, easy-to-read writing style features concise sentences and straightforward vocabulary. Emphasis on health promotion and community-based care reflects the reality that most adult health care takes place in environments outside of high-acuity (hospital) settings. NEW! Strengthened conceptual approach with data-driven Concept and Exemplar selections adds the concepts of pain, inflammation, and infection, and presents Exemplar disorders with a nursing-process format and depth to help prepare you for the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN). NEW and UNIQUE! Enhanced focus on clinical judgment and systems thinking ensures alignment with the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Model and emphasizes the six cognitive skills you''ll need for effective clinical judgment, for the NGN, and for safe clinical practice. NEW! Emphasis on need-to-know content provides a solid foundation for beginning nurse generalists, including only the most important patient problems for each medical condition, with streamlined chapters and concise coverage of nursing skills for preoperative and postoperative care. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest national and international evidence-based guidelines and protocols. NEW! Improved learning resources on the companion Evolve website are thoroughly updated and closely integrated with the textbook. NEW! Interprofessional Collaboration boxes highlight how the nurse collaborates with other members of the healthcare team. NEW! Ethical/Legal Considerations boxes address dilemmas that medical-surgical nurses face related to technological changes and socioeconomic disparities. NEW! Increased emphasis on home care, health promotion, and community-based care reflects the ongoing shift of care from hospitals to the home environment. NEW! Updated illustrations include new anatomy and physiology images, procedure images, and disorder photos. NEW! Updated drug tables are designed for quick reference and the use of drug trade names is eliminated for better alignment with the NGN. NEW! Coverage of opioid misuse is updated to reflect the opioid crisis in the U.S. NEW! Content on personal safety and preparedness for mass casualty events has been expanded to equip you for the realities of healthcare today. NEW! Key terms and definitions at the beginning of each chapter give you advance familiarity with essential terminology. NEW! Revised Key Points align closely with Learning Outcomes and each includes a QSEN or Clinical Nursing Concept "tag" to maximize your study efficiency. NEW! Simplified and streamlined chapters make the book easier to use and information easier to find.
ISBN: 9780323612418
- Pharmacology and the Nursing Process by
Gain the pharmacology knowledge and skills you need to administer medications safely! Pharmacology and the Nursing Process, 10th Edition provides practical, easy-to-use pharmacology information, emphasizing the application of the nursing process and prioritization throughout the book. Coverage begins with pharmacology basics, then discusses drugs by body systems and drug functions. Hundreds of full-color illustrations show how drugs work in the body and depict key steps in medication administration. Written by pharmacology experts Linda Lane Lilley, Shelly Rainforth Collins, and Julie S. Snyder, this bestselling textbook makes it easy to understand and apply pharmacology concepts and provide safe, quality nursing care. Focus on need-to-know information includes discussions of what nurses may encounter during drug administration in a variety of health care settings, providing accounts of real-life medication errors and tips for avoiding those errors. The Nursing Process is applied to each category of drugs, ensuring that you administer medications accurately and safely, and includes the steps of assessment, human need statements, planning, implementation, and evaluation. Emphasis on drug classes describes key similarities and differences among the drugs in each class, making it easier to understand how individual drugs work in the body. Consistent presentation for each drug group includes the mechanism of action, indications, contraindications, adverse effects, interactions, and dosages, concluding with drug profiles of individual drugs in the class or group. High-alert icons identify medications that pose a greater risk to patient safety. Focus on prioritization includes prioritized nursing diagnoses along with a corresponding prioritization of goals and outcomes, to help you learn to connect nursing diagnoses with goals and outcomes. Ease of readability makes difficult content more understandable. Photo atlas features more than 100 drawings and photographs showing drug administration techniques. Dosages tables summarize generic and trade names, pharmacologic class, normal dosage ranges, and indications for the drugs. Learning features at the beginning of each chapter include objectives and key terms, and at the end of each chapter, key points, critical thinking questions, review questions, and a list of resources available on the Evolve website. QSEN coverage includes the use of human need theory with human need statements, case studies featuring collaboration and teamwork content, Preventing Medication Errors boxes, and a discussion of the QSEN initiative as it relates to the safety and quality of patient care. NEW! Updated drug content reflects the latest FDA drug approvals, withdrawals, and therapeutic uses, and includes updated nursing content.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 0323827977
- Mulholland's the Nurse, the Math, the Meds by
540 pages UNIQUE! Useful FAQs and answers in each chapter are based on years of classroom questions compiled by the author. UNIQUE! Communication boxes show sample nurse-patient and nurse-prescriber dialogues, relating the math to the medications and to clinical application. UNIQUE! Ask Yourself questions help you synthesize information and reinforce your comprehension. Rapid Practice quizzes provide practice problems following each new topic, making it easy to master both math concepts and drug calculation at the same time. Mnemonics offer shortcuts to make memorization easier, and save time in learning. Red arrow alerts call attention to potential math errors and patient safety issues. High-risk drug icons are used to highlight potentially dangerous drugs. Multiple choice-format questions at the end of each chapter help you review the material and prepare for the NCLEX® exam. Chapter finals boost your understanding by providing additional practice with the major concepts covered in each chapter; the answer key shows how to work out the problems. Comprehensive final practice boosts your understanding by providing additional practice with the major concepts covered through the entire text; the answer key shows how to work out the problems. NEW and Updated! Safety-related procedures and protocols include the newest ISMP, JCAHO, and QSEN safety standards and new content on drug calculations. NEW and Updated! Photos and medication labels ensure that you are up to date on today's medications. NEW! SBAR information describes Situation, Background, Assessment, Recommendation in Metric Units and Conversions chapter. NEW information on health care provider orders is added to Oral Medications chapter. NEW table of insulins and their uses is included in Antidiabetic Medications chapter. NEW content on thrombolytics, clotting inhibitors, anti-platelet aggregants, and herbal supplements is included in Anticoagulant Medications chapter.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 0323479502
Foundations for Population Health in Community/Public Health Nursing by
Get the essential information you need to know about population health and community health nursing! Foundations for Population Health in Community/Public Health Nursing, 5th Edition includes concise, focused coverage of community health nursing - from nursing roles and care settings to vulnerable population groups. The book uses a practical, community-oriented approach and places an emphasis on health promotion and disease prevention. Practical application of concepts is highlighted throughout the text in case studies, critical thinking activities, QSEN competencies, and Healthy People 2020 objectives. QSEN boxes illustrate how quality and safety goals, competencies, objectives, knowledge, skills, and attitudes can be applied in nursing practice in the community. Healthy People 2020 objectives in every chapter address the health priorities and emerging health issues expected in the next decade. Genomics coverage provides a history of genetics and genomics and how they impact public/community health nursing care. Focus on health promotion throughout the text emphasizes initiatives, strategies, and interventions that promote the health of the community. Clinical Application scenarios present practice situations with questions and answers to help you apply chapter concepts to practice in the community. Evidence-Based Practice boxes highlight current research findings, their application to practice, and how community/public health nurses can apply the study results. Levels of Prevention boxes identify specific nursing interventions at the primary, secondary, and tertiary levels, to reinforce the concept of prevention as it pertains to community and public health care. Feature box on Linking Content to Practice highlights how chapter content is applied in the role of public/community health nursing. NEW! Coverage of health care reform includes discussions of the impact of The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 (ACA) on public health nursing and the potential implications of its repeal. NEW! Check Your Practice boxes feature scenarios and discussion questions to promote active learning.
ISBN: 9780323443838
Spring II
- Guide to the Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements by Call Number: Not on Northwest CampusISBN: 9781558106031
- Concepts for Nursing Practice (with Access on VitalSource) by
Learn the core concepts of nursing care and apply them to the clinical setting! Concepts for Nursing Practice, 3rd Edition uses a simplified, intuitive approach to describe 57 important concepts relating to all areas of nursing practice. For easier understanding, this book also makes connections among related concepts and links you to other nursing textbooks. Exemplars for each concept provide useful examples and models, showing how concepts are successfully applied to practice. New to this edition are updated research evidence and a new Population Health concept. Written by conceptual learning expert Jean Giddens, this text will help you build clinical reasoning skills and prepare confidently for almost any clinical nursing situation. Authoritative content written by expert contributors and meticulously edited by concept-based learning expert Jean Giddens sets the standard for the rapidly growing concept-based curriculum movement. A total of 57 important nursing concepts are clearly defined and analyzed, spanning the areas of patient physiology, patient behavior, and the professional nursing environment. Case studies in each chapter make it easier to apply knowledge of nursing concepts to real-world situations. UNIQUE! Featured Exemplars sections describe selected exemplars related to each nursing concept, covering the entire lifespan and all clinical settings, and help you assimilate concepts into practice. UNIQUE! Logical framework of concepts by units and themes helps you form immediate connections among related concepts --- a key to conceptual learning. UNIQUE! Interrelated Concepts illustrations provide visual cues to understanding and help you make connections across concepts. NEW! UPDATED content reflects the latest research evidence and national and international practice guidelines. NEW! Population Health concept reflects the future of nursing, in which health care organizations learn to deliver care that is high in quality, patient-centered, cost-effective, and evidence-based. NEW! Featured Exemplars sections provide a brief explanation of some of the most important exemplars. NEW! Discussion questions in case studies reinforce your understanding of each concept. NEW! UPDATED exemplar links connect you to concept exemplars in other RN- and LPN/LVN-level Elsevier nursing titles.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 9780323581936
- Nursing Today by
Loved for its humor, readability, and inviting cartoons, Nursing Today: Transitions and Trends, 9th Edition helps you prepare for the NCLEX-RN® Examination - while giving you valuable information to succeed in your professional career. It reflects current issues and trending topics that nurses will face, ensuring that you graduate not only with patient care skills, but also with career development skills such as resume writing, finding a job, and effective interviewing. This edition features test-taking tips for the NCLEX-RN® Examination and updated Evolve resources for students, including review questions and case studies. Thorough coverage of all the most important issues faced by the new nurse, preparing you for a professional career. An engaging approach features lively cartoons, chapter objectives, bibliographies, and colorful summary boxes. An emphasis on making the transition into the workplace is included in chapters such as NCLEX-RN and the New Graduate, Employment Considerations: Opportunities, Resumes, and Interviewing, and Mentorship and Preceptorship. Critical Thinking boxes in every chapter offer questions and exercises asking you to apply what you have learned to clinical practice. Evidence-Based Practice boxes, and evidence-based practice content throughout, focus your attention on the research evidence that supports clinical practice. Content on the role of nursing includes changes related to the BSN in 10 campaign and how these might affect entry into practice, as well as differentiated nursing practice models. Mentoring and preceptorship content discusses preceptorships as a capstone course versus a formalized preceptorship or nurse externship in which a student is employed by a healthcare facility, as well as the advantages of and tips for getting a nurse externship while in nursing school. NEW and UPDATED! Thoroughly updated content throughout with new information on areas such as: 2016 NCLEX test plan and pass/fail determinates by level of difficulty, interprofessional education, serious reportable events and never events, and nursing responsibilities in spiritual care. UPDATED! New content on leadership and followership features professional models of nursing practice like medical or health homes and nurse-managed health centers. EXPANDED! Added QSEN competencies related to effective communication, team building, evidence-based practice, patient safety, and quality assurance highlighted throughout. UPDATED and IMPROVED! Section restructuring makes this edition even easier to follow. UPDATED! Evolve resources for students include review questions and case studies.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 0323401686
- Medical-Surgical Nursing by
NEW! Strengthened conceptual approach with data-driven Concept and Exemplar selections adds the concepts of pain, inflammation, and infection, and presents Exemplar disorders with a full nursing-process format and extra depth to help prepare you for the Next Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN). NEW and UNIQUE! Enhanced focus on clinical judgment and systems thinking ensures alignment with the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Model and emphasizes the six cognitive skills you''ll need for effective clinical judgment, for the NGN, and for safe clinical practice. NEW and UNIQUE! Emphasis on NGN preparation includes chapter-opening Learning Outcomes and chapter-ending Get Ready for the NCLEX Examination! sections, plus NCLEX Examination Challenge questions and new chapter-ending Mastery Questions, with an answer key in the back of the book and on the companion Evolve website. UNIQUE! Interprofessional collaborative approach to care views medical and nursing management through the lens of the nursing process and the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Model and aligns with the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC) Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice. NEW! Emphasis on need-to-know content provides a solid foundation for beginning nurse generalists, including only the most important patient problems for each medical condition, with streamlined chapters and concise coverage of nursing skills for preoperative and postoperative care. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest national and international evidence-based guidelines and protocols. NEW! Improved learning resources on Evolve are thoroughly updated and closely integrated with the textbook. NEW! Interprofessional Collaboration boxes highlight how the nurse collaborates with other members of the healthcare team. NEW! Ethical/Legal Considerations boxes address dilemmas that medical-surgical nurses face related to technological changes and socioeconomic disparities. NEW! Increased emphasis on home care, health promotion, and community-based care reflects the ongoing shift of care from hospitals to the home environment. NEW! Updated illustrations include new anatomy and physiology images, procedure images, and disorder photos. NEW! Updated drug tables are designed for quick reference and the use of drug trade names is eliminated for better alignment with the NGN. NEW! Coverage of opioid use disorder is updated to reflect the opioid crisis in the U.S. NEW! Content on personal safety and preparedness for mass casualty events has been expanded to equip you for the realities of healthcare today. NEW! Key terms and definitions at the beginning of each chapter give you advance familiarity with essential terminology. NEW! Revised Key Points align closely with Learning Outcomes and each includes a QSEN or Clinical Nursing Concept "tag" to maximize your study efficiency. Consistent use of interprofessional terminology promotes interprofessional collaboration through the use of a common healthcare language, instead of using isolated nursing-specific diagnostic language. UNIQUE! Enhanced conceptual approach to learning integrates nursing concepts and exemplars, providing a foundation in professional nursing concepts and health and illness concepts, and showing their application in each chapter. Unparalleled emphasis on clinical reasoning and clinical judgment helps you develop these vital skills when applying concepts to clinical situations. Emphasis on QSEN and patient safety focuses on safety and evidence-based practice with Nursing Safety Priority boxes, including Drug Alert, Critical Rescue, and Action Alert boxes. Direct, easy-to-read writing style features concise sentences and straightforward vocabulary. Emphasis on health promotion and community-based care reflects the reality that most adult health care takes place in environments outside of high-acuity (hospital) settings. NEW! Strengthened conceptual approach with data-driven Concept and Exemplar selections adds the concepts of pain, inflammation, and infection, and presents Exemplar disorders with a nursing-process format and depth to help prepare you for the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN). NEW and UNIQUE! Enhanced focus on clinical judgment and systems thinking ensures alignment with the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Model and emphasizes the six cognitive skills you''ll need for effective clinical judgment, for the NGN, and for safe clinical practice. NEW! Emphasis on need-to-know content provides a solid foundation for beginning nurse generalists, including only the most important patient problems for each medical condition, with streamlined chapters and concise coverage of nursing skills for preoperative and postoperative care. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest national and international evidence-based guidelines and protocols. NEW! Improved learning resources on the companion Evolve website are thoroughly updated and closely integrated with the textbook. NEW! Interprofessional Collaboration boxes highlight how the nurse collaborates with other members of the healthcare team. NEW! Ethical/Legal Considerations boxes address dilemmas that medical-surgical nurses face related to technological changes and socioeconomic disparities. NEW! Increased emphasis on home care, health promotion, and community-based care reflects the ongoing shift of care from hospitals to the home environment. NEW! Updated illustrations include new anatomy and physiology images, procedure images, and disorder photos. NEW! Updated drug tables are designed for quick reference and the use of drug trade names is eliminated for better alignment with the NGN. NEW! Coverage of opioid misuse is updated to reflect the opioid crisis in the U.S. NEW! Content on personal safety and preparedness for mass casualty events has been expanded to equip you for the realities of healthcare today. NEW! Key terms and definitions at the beginning of each chapter give you advance familiarity with essential terminology. NEW! Revised Key Points align closely with Learning Outcomes and each includes a QSEN or Clinical Nursing Concept "tag" to maximize your study efficiency. NEW! Simplified and streamlined chapters make the book easier to use and information easier to find.
ISBN: 9780323612418
- Pharmacology and the Nursing Process by
Gain the pharmacology knowledge and skills you need to administer medications safely! Pharmacology and the Nursing Process, 10th Edition provides practical, easy-to-use pharmacology information, emphasizing the application of the nursing process and prioritization throughout the book. Coverage begins with pharmacology basics, then discusses drugs by body systems and drug functions. Hundreds of full-color illustrations show how drugs work in the body and depict key steps in medication administration. Written by pharmacology experts Linda Lane Lilley, Shelly Rainforth Collins, and Julie S. Snyder, this bestselling textbook makes it easy to understand and apply pharmacology concepts and provide safe, quality nursing care. Focus on need-to-know information includes discussions of what nurses may encounter during drug administration in a variety of health care settings, providing accounts of real-life medication errors and tips for avoiding those errors. The Nursing Process is applied to each category of drugs, ensuring that you administer medications accurately and safely, and includes the steps of assessment, human need statements, planning, implementation, and evaluation. Emphasis on drug classes describes key similarities and differences among the drugs in each class, making it easier to understand how individual drugs work in the body. Consistent presentation for each drug group includes the mechanism of action, indications, contraindications, adverse effects, interactions, and dosages, concluding with drug profiles of individual drugs in the class or group. High-alert icons identify medications that pose a greater risk to patient safety. Focus on prioritization includes prioritized nursing diagnoses along with a corresponding prioritization of goals and outcomes, to help you learn to connect nursing diagnoses with goals and outcomes. Ease of readability makes difficult content more understandable. Photo atlas features more than 100 drawings and photographs showing drug administration techniques. Dosages tables summarize generic and trade names, pharmacologic class, normal dosage ranges, and indications for the drugs. Learning features at the beginning of each chapter include objectives and key terms, and at the end of each chapter, key points, critical thinking questions, review questions, and a list of resources available on the Evolve website. QSEN coverage includes the use of human need theory with human need statements, case studies featuring collaboration and teamwork content, Preventing Medication Errors boxes, and a discussion of the QSEN initiative as it relates to the safety and quality of patient care. NEW! Updated drug content reflects the latest FDA drug approvals, withdrawals, and therapeutic uses, and includes updated nursing content.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 0323827977
- Mulholland's the Nurse, the Math, the Meds by
540 pages UNIQUE! Useful FAQs and answers in each chapter are based on years of classroom questions compiled by the author. UNIQUE! Communication boxes show sample nurse-patient and nurse-prescriber dialogues, relating the math to the medications and to clinical application. UNIQUE! Ask Yourself questions help you synthesize information and reinforce your comprehension. Rapid Practice quizzes provide practice problems following each new topic, making it easy to master both math concepts and drug calculation at the same time. Mnemonics offer shortcuts to make memorization easier, and save time in learning. Red arrow alerts call attention to potential math errors and patient safety issues. High-risk drug icons are used to highlight potentially dangerous drugs. Multiple choice-format questions at the end of each chapter help you review the material and prepare for the NCLEX® exam. Chapter finals boost your understanding by providing additional practice with the major concepts covered in each chapter; the answer key shows how to work out the problems. Comprehensive final practice boosts your understanding by providing additional practice with the major concepts covered through the entire text; the answer key shows how to work out the problems. NEW and Updated! Safety-related procedures and protocols include the newest ISMP, JCAHO, and QSEN safety standards and new content on drug calculations. NEW and Updated! Photos and medication labels ensure that you are up to date on today's medications. NEW! SBAR information describes Situation, Background, Assessment, Recommendation in Metric Units and Conversions chapter. NEW information on health care provider orders is added to Oral Medications chapter. NEW table of insulins and their uses is included in Antidiabetic Medications chapter. NEW content on thrombolytics, clotting inhibitors, anti-platelet aggregants, and herbal supplements is included in Anticoagulant Medications chapter.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 0323479502
Summer II
- Concepts for Nursing Practice (with Access on VitalSource) by
Learn the core concepts of nursing care and apply them to the clinical setting! Concepts for Nursing Practice, 3rd Edition uses a simplified, intuitive approach to describe 57 important concepts relating to all areas of nursing practice. For easier understanding, this book also makes connections among related concepts and links you to other nursing textbooks. Exemplars for each concept provide useful examples and models, showing how concepts are successfully applied to practice. New to this edition are updated research evidence and a new Population Health concept. Written by conceptual learning expert Jean Giddens, this text will help you build clinical reasoning skills and prepare confidently for almost any clinical nursing situation. Authoritative content written by expert contributors and meticulously edited by concept-based learning expert Jean Giddens sets the standard for the rapidly growing concept-based curriculum movement. A total of 57 important nursing concepts are clearly defined and analyzed, spanning the areas of patient physiology, patient behavior, and the professional nursing environment. Case studies in each chapter make it easier to apply knowledge of nursing concepts to real-world situations. UNIQUE! Featured Exemplars sections describe selected exemplars related to each nursing concept, covering the entire lifespan and all clinical settings, and help you assimilate concepts into practice. UNIQUE! Logical framework of concepts by units and themes helps you form immediate connections among related concepts --- a key to conceptual learning. UNIQUE! Interrelated Concepts illustrations provide visual cues to understanding and help you make connections across concepts. NEW! UPDATED content reflects the latest research evidence and national and international practice guidelines. NEW! Population Health concept reflects the future of nursing, in which health care organizations learn to deliver care that is high in quality, patient-centered, cost-effective, and evidence-based. NEW! Featured Exemplars sections provide a brief explanation of some of the most important exemplars. NEW! Discussion questions in case studies reinforce your understanding of each concept. NEW! UPDATED exemplar links connect you to concept exemplars in other RN- and LPN/LVN-level Elsevier nursing titles.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 9780323581936
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by
1134 pages Over 5,200 practice questions in the text and online offer ample testing practice. 75-question comprehensive exam covers all content areas in the book in the same percentages that they are covered on the actual NCLEX-RN test plan. Inclusion of all alternate item format questions covers multiple response, prioritizing [ordered response], fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration [hot spot], chart/exhibit, video, and audio questions to give students practice with mastering prioritizing, decision-making, and critical thinking skills. Presents introductory chapters on preparation guidance for the NCLEX-RN, nonacademic preparation, test-taking strategies, the CAT format, and the NCLEX-RN from a new graduate's experience. UNIQUE! Audio review summaries on pharmacology, fluids and electrolytes, and acid-base balance are found on the Evolve companion site. Expanded coverage of delegation, prioritization, and triage/disaster management in the practice questions reflect the areas of increased emphasis on the NCLEX exam. UNIQUE! A detailed test-taking strategy and rationale is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option UNIQUE! Priority concepts call-outs highlight specific concepts related to nursing practice. Concepts have been updated to reflect the latest Giddens: Concepts for Nursing Practice text. UNIQUE! More Priority Nursing Action boxes communicate new and pertinent content. Question categories by cognitive level, client needs area, integrated process, and content area give you completely customizable exams or study sessions when using the companion Evolve site. UNIQUE! Pyramid Alert! boxes spotlight important nursing concepts and procedures, and include tips and shortcuts for remembering key information. Mnemonics included where appropriate throughout the text. NEW! Thoroughly updated content incorporates clinical updates and reflects the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Clinical Judgment Situations test critical thinking skills and feature Next Generation NCLEX item types to assist in applying the skill of clinical judgment. NEW! UPDATED! Bioterrorism content includes information on nuclear radiation. Several NEW prioritizing questions test prioritizing skills. NEW! Pharmacology classifications code with practice questions helps you to focus on specific medication classes. NEW! Special Populations chapter focuses on nursing care of special and vulnerable populations. NEW! Complex Care chapter includes information on sepsis, shock, sedation, critical care nursing interventions, and more. NEW! Health Problem code with every practice question helps you to focus your study on particular topics. NEW! Anemia section added to the Oncological and Hematological Problems chapter. NEW! Systematic case scenario helps you focus on applying health and physical assessment concepts.
Call Number: Not in Library's CollectionISBN: 0323358411
