Welcome to the Mobile Resources guide!

Apps and services are available to all users, fees may apply to those without a UAMS affiliated email address.

AccessMedicine

Point of care tool to search for conditions and symptoms, visual dermatology guide, and differential diagnosis.

Cost: Free for UAMS affiliates

Subscription required for general access

Browzine

Browse UAMS Library holding for electronic journals for their articles.

Cost: Free for UAMS affiliates

Subscription required for general access

ClinicalKey

A clinical search engine that supports the clinical decision requirements of physicians, medical librarians, CMO/CMIOs, and healthcare professionals. It is fast, complete, convenient, and trusted. 

Clinical Key Mobile - Instructional PDF

• Cost: Free for UAMS affiliates

Subscription required for general access

EBSCOhost

Search tool for finding articles

Includes access to CINAHL, PSYCINFO, and other databases. 

Cost: Free for UAMS affiliates 

Access an EBSCOhost database from the UAMS Library website on desired device. Once inside the database, select iPhone and Android apps and enter your UAMS email address. Follow the emailed link. Credentials must be renewed every 9 months to retain access.

Subscription required for general access

Merative Micromedex®

Micromedex provides five apps that are downloadable to your Google and Apple compatible devices as stand alone applications. Once downloaded they do not need an internet connection for use, but will update information when connected. Check on adult or child dosages, medication interactions, pregnancy and breastfeeding concerns, toxicology, and more.

All apps can be accessed by downloading to your device from either the Apple App Store or Google Play®. Once downloaded users must access Micromedex through the UAMS Library webpage. Sign in using UAMS credentials (If accessing while on UAMS campus WiFi, sign in is not necessary). Select Mobile Application Access in upper right hand corner. Open the drop down menu for "Micromedex Native Mobile Apps" to find  passwords.  Each app has a unique password.  Passwords must be renewed on campus every 12 months to retain access.

The following apps are available for UAMS affiliated users.

• Micromedex® Drug Reference 
• Micromedex® Drug Interactions 
• Micromedex® IV Compatibility 
• Micromedex® NeoFax Reference
• Micromedex® Pediatrics Reference

Cost: Free for UAMS affiliates; Individual subscriptions required for general access.

STAT!Ref

Clinical point of care with over 130 current standard textbooks for a variety of medical specialties.

Includes handbooks, dictionaries, drug information, and laboratory and diagnostic tests.

• Instructional PDF

Cost: Free for UAMS affiliates

Subscription required for general access

UpToDate

Clinical point of care app that offers concise topic reviews of published evidence with recommendations for patient care.

• Includes Lexi-Interact drug interactions analysis tool.
• Available on up to two devices per person
• Register on campus for future off campus use.  Users must periodically be on campus and using the app for it to remain active.

Cost: Free for UAMS affiliates

Subscription required for general access

ACP Clinical Guidelines

The American College of Physicians has an app that includes their clinical practice guidelines.  From the creators, "Users can conveniently access clinical recommendations and rationale, summary tables, algorithms, and high value care advice for all currently active ACP guidelines in an easy to read and interactive format" (Google Play description). 

Cost: Free

HerbList

An herb database about the safety and effectiveness of herbal products. This database is created and maintained by NIH's National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH).

Cost: Free

LactMed

LactMed is a National Library of Medicine database containing information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency. Updated Monthly as part of the National Library of Medicine TOXNET.

Cost: Free

Merck Manual Professional App

This app contains the entirety of the Merck Manual.  It includes thousands of health topics, photos and illustrations, "how to do" videos, drug reference information, quizzes, case simulations, and medical news.  This version is intended for health professionals.  There is a consumer edition available in plain language.  Note: it takes quite a bit of time to download initially and takes up a considerable amount of memory on your device.

Cost: Free

PubMed4Handhelds

PudMed4Handhelds is a National Library of Medicine app that allows the user to search PubMed and access full-text library articles.

Cost: Free

REMM

This is a National Library of Medicine app with a target audience of first responders and health providers treating victims of radiological and nuclear emergencies.  It provides information "about clinical diagnosis and treatment of radiation injury during radiological and nuclear emergencies." (About Mobile REMM in app, version 2.0.4)

Cost: Free

Shots Immunizations

Shots Immunizations is an immunization schedule app produced by the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine.

"In addition to the complete set of CDC vaccine schedules and footnotes, it also includes graphics, images, and commentary. Important up-to-date information is available for each vaccine, including: basics, high risk indications, adverse reactions, contraindications, catch-up, administration, epidemiology, brand names, and additives.

Since 2001, SHOTS by STFM has remained the premier point-of-care immunization resource. All content is written by immunization experts and has been reviewed by an expert from the US Centers For Disease Control and Prevention" (from Apple App Store description). 

Cost: Free

WISER

This is a National Library of Medicine app intended for healthcare providers after disasters with diagnosis and treatment guidelines for injuries common in disasters, but likely not common in healthcare providers general practice.  WISER can be used without connecting to the Internet after download.

Cost: Free

Merck Manual - Consumer Edition

This app contains the entirety of the Merck Manual.  It includes health topics, photos and illustrations, animations, quizzes, and medical news.  This version is intended for people who are not medical experts.  There is a professional edition available for health professionals.  Note: it takes quite a bit of time to download initially and takes up a considerable amount of memory on your device.

Cost: Free