EBSCO Publishing has released a valuable enhancement to its EBSCOhost user interface Result Lists: Image Quick View. Image Quick View adds pertinent thumbnail images such as charts, photos, maps and illustrations, from over 3,300 journals, to Result List items. Full-sized images can be viewed by simply clicking on any thumbnail image in the Result List, without opening the record first, providing users with instant views of the article’s image content. Many EBSCOhost databases include Image Quick View functionality. This versatile feature provides quick context and easier access to image content, before a user even opens a PDF full text article. Links to thumbnail images are also included in Result List items.

A public-domain repository of microscopy data that includes vetted and annotated images and video of all cell types, including intracellular structures and functions. Submissions are encouraged.

HONmedia is an unique repository of over 6’800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes. This peerless database has been created manually by HON and new image links are constantly being added from the world-wide Web.

Images can be searched directly in PubMed Central. Enter your search term and look for the image thumbnails in your search results in the upper right corner of the page. Click on “See more…” to view all image results. Images can be searched by keyword, author, journal, and PubMed ID number and the search results are provided by relevance ranking.

A multidisciplinary public access image database for use in medical education.

Free photographs, illustrations, and multimedia files from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Most of the images in the collection are in the public domain and are thus free of any copyright restrictions. If you look directly beneath the image you will see a fair use statement that tells you if the image is public domain or copyright protected. Permission is not required for public domain images, but they do ask that you credit the original institution and contributor. If the image is copyright protected, you will have to contact the content provider to get usage permission.

Dermatology Atlas with Alphabetized Index

contains images from the collections of the 27 institutes and centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health. Contents include general biomedical and science-related images, clinicians, computers, patient care-related images, microscopy images, and various exterior images.