Open Access Medical Images
These sites contain a variety of images of medical and health subjects that can be used for educational purposes. The images are mostly available in the public domain or licensed under a Creative Commons license, but with all multimedia, make sure to foll
American Society for Microbiology: Microbe Library
- American Society for Microbiology: Microbe LibraryA peer-reviewed digital media center for microbiology educators. Material is intended for an undergraduate audience, but the images may be applicable to wider audiences. The collection is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0) license.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL contains photos and illustrations that can be used by educators, researchers, and health care providers to easily communicate public health messages. Most of the material is in the public domain.
Flickr: Specimens (Pathology)
- Flickr: Specimens (Pathology)Gross and microscopic images of pathology specimens taken by Ed Uthman, a practicing pathologist in Houston, TX. Contains over 930 images, all licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license.
National Cancer Institute: Visuals Online
- National Cancer Institute: Visuals Online
Over 2,000 photos, diagrams, and drawings that can be used to help communicate meaning, describe concepts, and tell stories of biomedical, science, and patient-care topics. Most of the images are in the public domain.
National Library of Medicine: Images from the History of Medicine
- National Library of Medicine: Images from the History of MedicineFrom the National Library of Medicine’s History of Medicine Division, this collection contains over 70,000 pictorial items on the social and historical aspects of medicine ranging from the Middle Ages to the present. While many of the items are protected under copyright, there are a number available in the public domain.
University of Utah: Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
- University of Utah: Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)HEAL, housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library, contains over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. Specific collections in HEAL include neuroscience, hematology, histology, and dermatology, among other subjects.
Open i - Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine from NLM
OPENi - Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. Searching may be done using text queries as well as query images. Open-i provides access to over 3.7 million images from about 1.2 million PubMed Central® articles; 7,470 chest x-rays with 3,955 radiology reports; 67,517 images from NLM History of Medicine collection; and 2,064 orthopedic illustrations.