Whether you need a simple or in-depth search, you'll find what you need in one or more of the databases listed below:

Basic Searching Techniques

MEDLINE - PubMed or OVID

CINAHL

Web of Science

PsycINFO

If none of these databases meet your needs or you would like assistance in searching any of these databases, feel free to contact the UAMS Library Reference Department at 501-686-6734 or fill out an Ask a Librarian form to ask questions or set up a Consultation. Additionally you can contact your favorite librarian from the staff list of the Education and Research Department.

The UAMS Library also offers expert searching services for residents, staff, and faculty.  You can review information about Expert Searching Services and submit a Request.  Searches typically have a one week or less turn around time, so will not be suited for a presentation within the next week.

Every database has a slightly different search interface, but these basic searching techniques will help you get the most out of your search in any database.

1. Form your clinical search questions and pull out the key terms or phrases you need.

   • Example: Will dexamethasone help reduce post-operative nausea and vomiting in women?

   • Key Term/phrases: dexamethasone, post-operative, nausea, vomiting, women (notice that reduction is not a key term, it is difficult to search for adjectives or most outcomes, excepting mortality or length of stay)

2. Enter the key terms and phrases individually or as a group separated by AND into the search bar of the database - note the use of quotation marks around phrases in the below examples:

   • dexamethasone AND "postoperative nausea and vomiting" AND women

   • dexamethasone AND postoperative AND "nausea and vomiting" AND women

   • dexamethasone AND postoperative AND nausea AND vomiting AND women

3. Keep in mind that there are many words for the same concept, so consider alternate searches if you cannot find what you need:

   • Expanded: dexamethasone AND postoperative AND (nausea OR vomiting) AND women

   • Expanded More: dexamethasone AND postoperative AND (nausea OR vomiting) AND (women Or female)

   • Reduced: dexamethasone AND "postoperative nausea and vomiting"

4. Add necessary limits as allowed by the database:

   • Examples - English language, sex (female or male), publication date (last 10 years, etc.) age ranges (newborn, adolescent, adult, elderly) 

5. Now you are ready to search the citations for relevant articles.

To access PubMed use the link above, or access through the Library homepage at Start Your Search or the Library Quick Links box in the middle of the page. PubMed Basics Handout

PubMed Searching Tips:

1. Use AND, OR, NOT to combine search term terms/phrases.
2. Use the filters on the left side of the screen to narrow your search.
3. Use the Advanced page(below your search bar) to review your search. You can also search directly from this page.
4. Click the boxes beside citations and use the Send to(top right below the search bar) to save or email citations.
5.  Use the Check for UAMS Full Text button to search the UAMS LIbrary's full catalog. 

To access CINAHL use the link above, or access through the Library homepage at the Library Quick Links box in the middle of the page or through the A-Z Digital resources. Library CINAHL Guide

CINAHL Searching Tips:

1. Use AND, OR, NOT to combine search term terms/phrases.
2. Use CINAHL Headings(top of the page) to retrieve more precise results.
3. Add limits either before you search or use the Edit button from the Search History menu.
4. Click the blue folder to the left of citations to save, then access all saved citation from the Folder on the top or right hand side of the screen.
5. In the folder choose individual citations or all citations to save, email or export to RefWorks.
6.  Use the Check for UAMS Full Text button to search the UAMS LIbrary's full catalog. 

To access Web of Science(WOS) use the link above, or access through the Library homepage at the A-Z Digital resources found in the Library Quick Links box at the middle of the home page. Web of Science Quick Reference Guide

WOS Searching Tips:

1. Use AND, OR, NOT to combine search term terms/phrases.
2. Add year limiters before you search or use the Refine Results menu on the left-hand side of the search results page.
3. Refine results allows you to search within your search or use the Search History, at top right, to combine searches.
4. Click the boxes beside citations to email, print or Add to Marked List. 
5. Access the Marked List in the top right to email, print, or export to RefWorks.
6.  Use the Check for UAMS Full Text button to search the UAMS LIbrary's full catalog. 

To access PsycINFO use the link above, or access through the Library homepage at the A-Z Digital resources found in the Library Quick Links box at the middle of the home page. PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide

PsycINFO Searching Tips:

1. Use AND, OR, NOT to combine search term terms/phrases.
2. Use the Thesaurus(top of the page) to retrieve more precise results.
3. Add limits either before you search or use the Edit button from the Search History menu.
4. Click the blue folder to the left of citations to save, then access all saved citation from the Folder on the top or right hand side of the screen.
5. In the folder choose individual citations or all citations to save, email or export to RefWorks.
6.  Use the Check for UAMS Full Text button to search the UAMS LIbrary's full catalog.