Grey literature is defined as “Information produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing i.e. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body.” (Luxembourg, 1997 – Expanded in New York, 2004), from GreyNet.

The list in this guide includes resources that fall into this category.

• RePORT  “RePORT” (Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools) provides access to a variety of reporting tools, reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities. Previously known as CRISP.
• FirstGov.gov U.S. Government’s Official Web Portal.  Government information links are searchable and divided into topics for ease of use.
• Google Scholar  Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.  From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
• National Academies Press (NAP) NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.  May have to sign-in to see PDFs. 
• NSDL – National Science Digital Library  Subject based repository providing access to educational resources aggregated by the National Science Digital Library relating to science, technology, social sciences, and medicine
• Open Think Tank Directory has information about more than 2600 think tanks from around the globe. The directory includes a wide range of information about the think tanks, including the topics they focus on, how to contact them, and more. OTT is supported by On Think Thanks, a global platform dedicated to the study and support of policy research centers.
• Think Tank Search Searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses. TTS sponsored by the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.
• Virtual Technical Reports Center, University of Maryland Libraries Site contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds.