The UAMS Library serves the faculty, staff, and students of all UAMS colleges as well as the staff of the University Hospital. The collection and services are designed to meet the education, research, service, and patient care missions of UAMS. The Library also extends reference and borrowing privileges to health care practitioners throughout Arkansas either directly or through UAMS Regional Center Libraries.
The Library is staffed by 12 professional librarians and 12.5 FTE paraprofessionals and technical staff. Services and information are provided on-site in the Library as well as via the Library website, phone, email, social media, presentations, classes, and through participation on committees and research projects. In addition, seven professional educators and three staff members are located in the Student Success Center (see below).
The Library Facility
The Library occupies 44,000 square feet on three and one-half floors of the Education II Building. The Library includes the Student Success Center and the Historical Research Center (HRC). The HRC Annex houses additional materials and artifacts in a storage facility on campus. The Library has a total seating capacity of over 600 and over 60 computers available for faculty, staff, students, and visitors. The Library includes the following:
The Library provides various study and research areas throughout the Library as well as designated quiet/silent study areas. Food and drinks are allowed throughout the Library, and vending machines are located in a small lounge located on the 1st level (also accessible after hours).
The Library is open Monday through Sunday, and is staffed 87.5 hours a week. Students and residents may access the after-hours areas 24/7 via badge swipe.
The Library is closed to walk-in use during inclement weather or on holidays; however, access to digital collections continues, and telephone, social media, and email requests for assistance are monitored by staff during regular hours.
Library hours during holidays and breaks are posted in advance in the Library and on the Library’s website. Student Success Center and Historical Research Center hours may vary from Library hours.
Library Website & Resources
The UAMS Library website serves as the gateway to the Library’s online resources and services. The website provides access to bibliographic databases, evidence-based medicine and clinical summary tools, electronic books (including a variety of medical specialty textbooks), various electronic reference and research materials, and electronic journals. Links to selected health sciences websites are provided. The Historical Research Center (HRC) digital collection of photographs, documents, and other materials is linked from the website.
The online catalog includes records for books, journals, computer-based instruction programs as well as records for materials in the HRC, Arkansas Children’s Hospital Library, and other selected online catalogs in Arkansas higher education institutions and other government and public entities.
UAMS employees and students use their UAMS user/domain account and password to access the Library’s licensed electronic resources from off campus via the Library website. Guests visiting the UAMS Library have access to the library resources via a guest login.
The Library catalog and Serials Solutions index of ejournals and ebooks provide access to:
15,000+ electronic journal titles in the health and biomedical sciences
29,301 books in all formats including 1,382 in electronic format and 27,656 in print format
119 databases and various electronic resources, 28 licensed for UAMS
Instruction: The Library provides a wide variety of informational and instructional services, such as assistance in accessing and using information resources and services, presentations on topics of interest such as scholarly publishing and copyright, and workshops providing hands-on experience..
Specialized Assistance: The Library provides specialized services such as research consultation and in-depth literature search assistance (Research & Clinical Search Services), support for meeting NIH Public Access Policy requirements, and assistance with copyright questions. Librarians are available to participate on research, education, and clinical teams.
Checkout of Materials and Interlibrary Loans
Faculty, students, and staff must present an active UAMS student or employee badge to register before checking out books and media. The Library charges fines for overdue materials, and borrowing privileges are suspended until all bills and fines are settled. Use of print journals and reference materials is restricted to the Library.
The interlibrary loan staff obtain needed materials not available in the UAMS Library from other libraries and commercial document suppliers. Interlibrary loan requests are submitted electronically through the ILLiad section of the Library website after a one-time registration. Borrowers are notified before materials are requested from another library if they will be responsible for additional copyright fees or other document delivery charges.
Historical Research Center
The Historical Research Center acquires, preserves, and provides access to rare and archival materials that document the history of medicine, and is the state’s premier repository for medical history. The Center provides assistance to researchers in its fifth floor reading room.
History of Medicine book collection - 6,610 volumes
Archival records - 502 linear feet
Student Success Center
Co-located on the Library's 3rd level, the Student Success Center provides services to students of all the colleges. Services include testing in a secure environment as well as special testing for students requiring accommodations such as extended time, distraction-reduced/distraction-free testing. The Center includes a writing center, presentation studio, and technical support for laptops and mobile devices. Laptops are available for checkout for use within the Library confines. Student learning specialists provide assistance with study and testing skills and manage a peer tutoring program. A one stop shop website pulls together these and a wide variety of additional student academic services.
January 9, 2019
© 2017 University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences | Little Rock, AR