All Web Pages: UAMS Northwest Campus Library: Virtual Reference Collection

VIRTUAL REFERENCE COLLECTION

Provides links and descriptions to various UAMS Library reference title subscriptions which are available electronically. These titles are accessible to UAMS faculty, staff, residents and students. A few titles are available free through open websites. These free titles are indicated with an asterisk [*]

DICTIONARIES

*Biology-Online Dictionary
A free dictionary with 70,000+ biology terms. It uses the wiki concept-anyone can make a contribution.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary 2016 [Stat!Ref]
This 2016 version includes over 107,000 terms and definitions.
more...less...
HISTORY: Stedman's Medical Dictionary is the successor to the first American medical dictionary, Dr. Robley Dunglinson's A New Dictionary of Medical Science and Literature, first published in 1833. The work continued through successive editions until the 23rd and last edition, which was edited by Thomas Lathrop Stedman, MD, in 1903. Five years later, Dr. Stedman wrote a modernized version of the Dunglinson dictionary. It was published in 1911 as A Practical Medical Dictionary and is now known as Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
*WhoNamedIt? - Dictionary of Medical Eponyms
A medical eponym is any word related to medicine, whose name is derived from a person.

DIRECTORIES

*Arkansas Public Libraries Directory
The Arkansas State Library provides a map searchable by county through which you can locate public libraries.
*Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Covers free, full text, peer-reviewed scholarly journals in all subjects & languages. DOAJ removes journals that have ceased to publish unless continued by another title.
*World Directory of Medical Schools
A comprehensive directory of medical schools providing undergraduate medical education worldwide. It is searchable by school name, city or country.
more...less...
Begun in 2014, this resource merged International Medical Education Directory (IMED) with WFME’s Avicenna Directory.
AAFP Directory of Family Medicine Residency Programs
Listing each program in the U.S., it provides details on faculty, staff, administration, accreditation, size, salaries, etc.
Arkansas Medical Society Physician Directory
Directory of AMS members. The database is searchable by name, city, zip or specialty. AMS members can access more detailed information.
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) - Directory of Information
This is a compilation of resources on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) collected by UAMS research librarians. There are sections for clinicians, researchers and the public.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Ulrichsweb Global Periodicals Directory provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.

DRUGS

*Drug Information Portal – [National Library of Medicine]
Info on 98400+ drugs. Searchable by drug name, category and generic name stem. Includes summaries, info. from journals, toxicology resources and more.
*Drugs @ FDA: Approved Drug Products
Search by Drug Name, Active Ingredient, or Application Number
ADA Practical Guide to Substance Abuse Disorders & Safe Prescribing 2015 [R2]
Dentists have been inundated by patients with an array of complicated medical conditions and pain/sedation management issues. The guide covers these issues plus legal regulations re: storage & recordkeeping of controlled substances.
American Hospital Formulary Service (AHFS) Drug Information 2022 [Stat!Ref]
Provides evidence-based information on medically accepted uses of drugs, both labeled and off-label. Widely trusted for refuting unfounded efficacy claims, its rigorous science-based editorial process, and its independence from the influence of pharmaceutical manufacturers.
more...less...
First published in 1959, AHFS DI® is the longest published federally designated drug compendium issued by a scientific/professional society.
Davis’s Drug Guide for Nurses 2021 17th Ed. [Stat!Ref]
Comprehensive, up-to-date drug information in nursing-focused monographs. Addresses safe medication administration and information on 50 different therapeutic classes of drugs on most vulnerable patients.
more...less...
In this 17th edition, we have continued the tradition of focusing on safe medication administration by including Medication Safety Tools and even more information about health care's most vulnerable patients: children, the elderly, pregnant women, and breast feeding mothers. Look for more Pedi, Geri, OB, and Lactation headings throughout the monographs.
Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists, 6e 2018 [AccessPharmacy]
Educates on how to efficiently research, interpret, evaluate, collate, and disseminate information in the most usable form. Covers legal and ethical considerations of providing drug information.
Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. 2018 – 13th ed. [AccessMedicine]
Correlates pharmacology with related medical sciences, to reinterpret the actions and uses of drugs in light of advances in medicine and the basic biomedical sciences, to emphasize the applications of pharmacodynamics to therapeutics.
more...less...
First published in 1941 it became known as the "blue bible of pharmacology."
Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics 2022 - 14th ed [Partial]
Note - This links to the newest chapters 29-34 only. Please see the 13th ed (2018) for the complete book within AccessMedicine.
Handbook of Injectable Drugs 2021 [Stat!Ref]
Published by Am Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Provides compatibility & stability information on parenteral drug products. Provides monographs on each drug arranged alphabetically by generic name.
more...less...
All previous editions are considered out of date. See User’s Guide for instructions on use of this handbook.
LactMed - Drugs & Lactation Database
LactMed is a curated database of drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Records may include a summary, therapeutic alternatives to selected drugs, references to the scientific literature, and links to credible organizations plus NLM databases.
more...less...
LactMed debuted in 2006 and currently has almost 1500 records.
Meyler’s Side Effects of Drugs 2016 - 16th Ed [ClinicalKey]
Most comprehensive reference text in the field of adverse drug effects, reactions and interactions.
more...less...
Older editions are kept in REF storage.
Poisoning & Drug Overdose – 2022 8th Ed [AccessMedicine]
Practical advice for the diagnosis and management of poisoning and drug overdose plus concise information on common industrial chemicals. Covers emergency management; diagnosis; decontamination & elimination of poisons; detailed info on 150 common drugs/poisons; use & side effects of ~60 antidotes; medical management of 500+ chemical exposures.
more...less...
The Index is comprehensive and extensively cross-referenced. Access Medicine also offers 2012 (6th) and 2018 (7th) editions.
Schatzberg's Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology 2019 - 9th Ed. [PsychiatryOnline]
Reflects current EBM & opinion on specific agents—efficacy, dosing, & side effects w/ FDA approval or expected approval. Summary tables provide quick reference data on classes of psychotropics.
more...less...
We will long remain in debt to Alan Schatzberg, M.D., for his many years of dedication to educating the field on the clinical use of psychiatric medications. As a small token of our indebtedness, we are renaming this ninth edition of his manual to Schatzberg’s Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology.
USP-NF 2022
United States Pharmacopeia (USP) & National Formulary (NF). Monographs for drug substances, dosage forms, & compounded preparations. Dietary supplements/ ingredients included. Excipient monographs are in NF.
more...less...
Merger of: The Pharmacopoeia of the United States of America; and: National Formulary. [Requires username & password.] Please email request to: libraryejournals@uams.edu

Older editions are kept in REF storage.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

* A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia [MedlinePlus]
Includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
more...less...
Provided by the National Library of Medicine's MedlinePlus consumer health information site. For more information about A.D.A.M., see its content review board.

GUIDELINES

The National Guidelines Clearinghouse is no longer available. Clinical practice guidelines can be found through the PubMed or CINAHL databases.

AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice 2022 [Stat!Ref]
These guidelines represent AORN's official position on questions regarding perioperative practice. The AORN guidelines are based on a comprehensive, systematic review of research and non-research evidence; the individual references are appraised and scored, and the recommendations are rated according to the strength and quality of the evidence supporting each recommendation. Each guideline is reviewed and updated on a 5-year cycle.
Essential Evidence Plus & AFHS DI Essentials 2022 [Stat!Ref]
Essential Evidence Plus & AFHS DI Essentials is a powerful, comprehensive clinical decision support system with information on 9,000 diagnoses. Created by an international team of renowned medical experts for front line patient care health professionals.
EE+ features over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, tools, images, and summaries covering the most common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians come in contact with every day. Every recommendation carries a strength-of-evidence rating.
Family Practice Guidelines 2021 [Stat!Ref]
The guidelines have been written and updated by experienced nurse practitioners. This valuable resource is designed to assist nurse practitioners in organizing and using the content in a quick-reference format. Emphasis is placed on history taking, physical examination, and key elements of the diagnosis. Useful website links have also been incorporated, along with updated client teaching guides.
Pediatric Clinical Practice Guidelines & Policies 2021 21st Ed. [Stat!Ref]
Developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), the authors, editors, and contributors are expert authorities in the field of pediatrics. Policy statements issued and endorsed by AAP are developed to provide physicians with a quick reference guide to the AAP position on child health care issues.

HANDBOOKS

WHO Classification of Tumours
WHO’s Classification of Tumours is principally used in tumour or cancer registries, for coding the site (topography) and the histology (morphology) of the neoplasm, usually obtained from a pathology report.
more...less...
International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) has been responsible for the WHO Classification of Tumours, also known as the WHO Blue Books, since the 3rd edition (2000–2005), which covered all organ sites in 10 volumes. The characteristics of each cancer type, including diagnostic criteria, pathological features, and associated molecular alterations, are described and illustrated in a strictly disease-oriented manner to provide the international standards for diagnosis and cancer research.

The WHO Classification of Tumours Group at IARC is responsible for the publication of the WHO Classification of Tumours series, which is currently in its 5th edition. It continues to be published in print as the WHO 'Blue Books' and also as a website.
*Occupational Outlook Handbook 2021
US Dept. of Labor - Searchable by salary ranges, education levels, job training and projected growth rates.
Davis’s Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications 2021 9th Ed [Stat!Ref]
Guides the planning of what needs to be assessed, monitored, treated, and taught regarding pretest requirements, intratest procedures, and post-test care.
DSM-5 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders [PsychiatryOnline]
The DSM-5 is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders.
DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis 5th Ed – [PsychiatryOnline]
Methods of conducting Diff.Dx per Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. See link to full DSM-5.
Handbook of Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid-base Imbalances 2010 [Stat!Ref]
Quick access to over 200 diagrams and tables. A developmental approach is used to provide examples across the life span that illustrate common health problems associated with imbalances.
Harriet Lane Handbook: A Manual for Pediatric House Officers 2015, 20th Ed. [ProQuest]
Clinical tool written by house officers for house officers. Provides clinical guidelines & sections on acute care, diagnostics & therapeutics, references & formulary.
more...less...
First developed in 1953 by residents, it became known as the “Pearl Book”.
ICD-10-CM: Clinical Modifications 2021 [Stat!Ref]
The ICD-10 is used to code and classify mortality data. NCHS has developed a clinical modification of the ICD-10 classifications for morbidity purposes.
more...less...
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the Federal agency responsible for use of the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (ICD-10) in the United States. Significant improvements over ICD-9-CM and ICD-10 include: addition of ambulatory and managed care encounters; expanded injury codes; the creation of combination diagnosis/symptom codes to reduce the number of codes needed to fully describe a condition; and more.
ICD-10-PCS: Procedural Coding System 2021 [Stat!Ref]
International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (ICD), is a classification list created by the WHO. It is used for medical coding of diseases, signs/symptoms, abnormal findings, causes of injuries/diseases and more.
Immunoassay Handbook : Theory and Applications of Ligand Binding, ELISA and Related Techniques 2013, 4th Ed [ProQuest]
Includes topics on lateral flow, microsphere multiplex assays, immunohistochemistry, ELISA development, assay interferences, pharmaceutical applications, qualitative immunoassays, antibody detection and lab-on-a-chip.
more...less...
Covers the science, technology and applications of ELISA and other immunoassays.
Red Book: 2021-2024 Report of Committee on Infectious Diseases, 32nd Ed. [Stat!Ref]
Contains current AAP recommendations on various aspects of infectious diseases & pediatric vaccinations. Updates are issued every 3 years.
more...less...
This AAP Committee is responsible for developing and revising guidance for control of infectious diseases in infants, children, and adolescents. It includes recommendations for the most recent US FDA-licensed vaccines for infants, children, and adolescents.

The Power of the Patient Voice
Empowered patients take greater responsibility and are more accountable for their own care. Yet many patients have little influence in matters that impact them most. Learn how to boost the patient voice and create innovative patient-provider partnerships. The NEJM has combined one-on-one interviews with executives, clinical leaders, clinicians, and patient advocates with data gleaned from a year of Insights Council surveys to share their firsthand challenges and experiences in evolving care delivery to empower patients.

REPORTS

AAMC Faculty Salary Report Online - Please contact the Education & Research Services department regarding access. Call 501-686-6734 or email: Ask a Librarian

UAMS Budget FY2022 - Access the full text PDF of the current UAMS Budget Book through our catalog. It covers through June 30, 2022. The PDF is searchable by clicking CTRL-F. It will highlight the term searched.

Red County Report - A 2018 Report of Arkansas Counties Life Expectancy. This report ranks 22 out of 75 Arkansas counties as "Red Counties" and assists the Red County Action Planning Committee in continuing interventions in the "Red Counties".

STYLE MANUALS / RESOURCES

AMA Manual of Style : A Guide for Authors and Editors 2020, 11th Ed.
Provides style rules for JAMA etc. including Manuscript preparation -- References -- Visual presentation of data -- Punctuation -- Nomenclature and more.
Citation Help for APA, 7th Edition
Written by CSS librarians, this web resource clearly explains specific APA rules such as references format and in-text citations. Provides excellent examples.
Citing Medicine: NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers 2007, 2nd Ed [Updated 2015]
Instructions for formatting citations for journal articles, books, e-formats (e-journals, web pages, blog posts). Does not provide in-text citation styles.
RefWorks
Web-based citation management tool. Write-N-Cite module provides fast generation of bibliographies and manuscripts in virtually any style.

UAMS Northwest Campus Library

Give Us Your Feedback