Archival collections are comprised of a variety of materials--including paper records, photographs, media, maps, and other documents. 

Guides to our collections can be searched in our online Finding Aids.  Finding aids allow you to discover and understand the content and context of materials in each collection.

In addition, many of the books, photos and periodicals shelved at the Historical Research Center can be found in the UAMS Library Catalog.  The Catalog for the UAMS Library lists all bibliographic items, physical or electronic found in the Library.

A selection from the Historical Research Center has been digitized and made available online.  We are regularly adding to online content so that archival materials can be viewed remotely.  Be sure to check out our Digital Collections. 

The Historical Research Center receives new rare and unique archival manuscripts on a regular basis.  If you are having trouble finding a book or a collection, please contact us at: hrc@uams.edu or call (501) 686-6733.  Our staff members will be happy to assist you. 

Conducting research in an archival environment differs from visiting the library.  Archives typically have unique and sensitive documents that require protection, therefore archival repositories have specific rules for viewing materials.  Patrons should familiarize themselves with the rules governing the Reading Room in advance of a visit.

Archival collections do not circulate outside of the Reading Room and require an appointment to view.  Because a portion of the archives are housed off-site, we require a minimum of three business days notice of a research visit.  Always contact us before scheduling any travel, in case there are any circumstances which might impede access to archival materials.  

If a collection is unprocessed or contains restricted materials, it may not be available for a research visit.  It is always prudent to obtain permission to view restricted materials in advance.  Requests must be in writing and may be sent via email to hrc@uams.edu.  The Director of the Historical Research Center will review such requests and will determine conditions for access if applicable.  

The Historical Research Center is open to the public Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.  Please see the Library Calendar for holiday closings.

The Historical Research Center is open to all researchers interested in its collections, and subject to the regulations outlined below.  Our Reading Room procedures derive from these basic concerns: quality of service to researchers, security and preservation of materials, courtesy to other researchers, and compliance with university and library regulations.

• Archival collections at the Historical Research Center are contained in closed stacks and may only be accessed in the Reading Room on the 5th floor of the UAMS Library.
• Please use pencils only while in the Reading Room.  The use of pens or markers is prohibited.
• Upon arrival, we will ask that you complete a form for the materials that you will be viewing that day.
• Food and Drink are not permitted in the Reading Room.  Researchers may bring into the research area: notebooks or loose paper, note cards, laptops, cameras, and (conditionally) flatbed scanner.  
• When working with records, be responsible and safeguard their condition.  Records may be served on a cart and be contained in one or more boxes.  Only open one box, container, or bound volume at a time.  If the records are in folders, only remove and open one folder at a time.
• Archival records must be kept in the same order in which they appear within a box, container, or folder.  If records appear to be out or order, do not rearrange the records yourself.  Alert HRC staff for assistance.
• Take care to avoid accidental damage to the documents.  Keep records flat and on the table, do not bend or fold records.  Never place your notepaper on top of a document you are studying or use your pencil as a pointer.  When looking at photographs or slides, you will be provided cotton gloves to protect the materials.
• Archival collections can not be retrieved within 30 minutes of closing.  All materials must be returned 15 minutes before closing.  Upon request, materials may be placed on reserve in the Reading Room for continued viewing.
• To request copying or scanning of materials from a collection, please consult with the HRC staff.
• Throughout your visit, a member of our HRC staff will never be far away. We are happy to assist you with research, provide any advice about the records, show you how to place orders or explain the reading room rules.  If you’re not sure what to do, we are here to assist you so please do ask!