Historical Research Center
Digital Collections
Digital Collections
The digital collections of the UAMS Library Historical Research Center (HRC) provide access to a selection of materials related to the history of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences and the health sciences in Arkansas. Images of items from the physical holdings of the HRC constitute the bulk of these collections. For any items not held by the HRC, the specific repository or owner is listed in the Repository field in the item record. Digitization of historical materials is on-going for those collections which feature an RSS feed.
Edith Irby Jones, M.D.: A Trailblazer for Civil Rights and Medicine
Edith Irby Jones, M.D.: A Trailblazer for Civil Rights and Medicine
About this collection:
The Edith Irby Jones, M.D., A Trailblazer for Civil Rights and Medicine project is a selection of materials available to researchers from the Edith Irby Jones, M.D. Collection at the Historical Research Center in UAMS Library. Dr. Jones was the first African American to be admitted into the University of Arkansas School of Medicine and she was the first Black student to be enrolled in a segregated medical college in the South. In 1985, Dr. Jones became the first female President of the National Medical Association. The digital contents of this project include photographs, correspondence, awards, and biographical materials.
Making a Difference: The M. Joycelyn Elders, M.D. Collection
Making a Difference: The M. Joycelyn Elders, M.D. Collection
About this collection:
“Making a Difference: The M. Joycelyn Elders, M.D. Collection” highlights the career and life of Dr. Joycelyn Elders, who was born in rural Howard County in Southwest Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas School of Medicine in 1960. As a physician, Elders wanted to improve the lives of children and became the first person in Arkansas to be board certified in pediatric endocrinology. In 1987, she was appointed by Gov. Bill Clinton to lead the Arkansas Department of Health, the first woman and African American to do so. In 1993, Dr. Elders was appointed United States Surgeon General by President Clinton. She was the first Black woman to hold the position. She returned to UAMS as a faculty researcher and a Professor of Pediatric Endocrinology at Arkansas Children’s Hospital in 1995, until her retirement in 2002. To reflect the diverse content of her papers, the project includes: photographs, awards, appointments, certifications, and biographical documents.
Pioneers of Diversity: Women of Color in Public Health and Medicine
Pioneers of Diversity: Women of Color in Public Health and Medicine
About this collection
This collection is an educational project that celebrates the accomplishments of historically-marginalized women working within the medical and other health professions and seeks to bring awareness of their amazing stories to a wider community. Included are images, documents and linked videos of successful women who are either native to Arkansas or whose careers have significantly impacted the history of medicine within the state.
Finding Aids: Manuscript Collections
Finding Aids: Manuscript Collections
About this collection:
A finding aid is a document containing detailed information about a specific collection of records held within a given repository. Finding aids are comprised of an inventory and a detailed description about the archival materials and specific information that a researcher can expect to see within that collection. Archival materials include manuscripts, letters, organizational records, photographs, audio visual recordings, oral histories, objects, digital materials, and much more.
Images of Health Sciences in Arkansas History
Images of Health Sciences in Arkansas History
About this collection:
This collection contains a selection of photographs and other graphic materials related to the history o of UAMS or the health sciences in Arkansas. Images include UAMS grounds, buildings, and employees; UAMS College of Medicine class composites ca1890-1946; the first graduating class of other UAMS colleges or programs; scrapbooks; medical instruments; antique pharmaceuticals; memorabilia and souvenirs; medical illustrations; campus maps; certificates and diplomas; ephemera.
Titles for items related to UAMS reflect changes in both the institution’s name and location. Founded in 1879, the medical school was known as the Arkansas Industrial University Medical Department until 1899; University of Arkansas Medical Department, 1899 to 1918; University of Arkansas School of Medicine, 1918 to 1975; and University of Arkansas Medical Sciences Campus, 1975 to 1980. University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences was adopted as the official name in 1980. The campus was referred to informally as the University of Arkansas Medical Center ca1947 to 1974. The medical school was previously located at the following four sites: 113 West Second Street (remodeled Sperindio Hotel), 1879 to 1890; Second and Sherman Streets, 1890 to 1912; 300 West Markham (Old State House), 1912 to 1935; McAlmont and Twelfth Streets, 1935 to 1956. The medical school moved to its present location on 4301 West Markham in 1956. The UAMS Northwest Campus was established in Fayetteville in 2007.
Mystery Photos
Mystery Photos
About this collection
Images in this digital collection contain unidentified subjects or have incomplete identifications. Anyone with information about people, places, events, or objects in these images should contact Archivist Suzanne Easley at easleymyra@uams.edu or 501-686-6882.
Journal of the Arkansas Medical Society
Journal of the Arkansas Medical Society
About this collection
This collection contains text searchable volumes of the Journal of the Arkansas Medical Society and related titles from 1870 to 1922. The digitization of the journals was made possible by a federally funded 2011 Digital Preservation Award from the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health, under Contract No. HHSN-276-2011-00007-C with the Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library.
The text in this digital collection was extracted using OCR software. Accuracy varies due to the print quality and physical condition of the original as well as the font sizes and types. Therefore, in addition to keyword searches, users are advised to always review the page images for the time period being researched.
ABOUT THIS PROJECT:
The approx. 14,984 page images in this collection were photographed by five Library staff members from May to December of 2012. The images were captured with a BookDrive Pro system equipped with two Canon Rebel T2i EOS 550D cameras. The camera settings were ISO 400; 1/100; F5.0; and automatic white balance. Using Canon’s Digital Photo Professional software (DPP), the RAW image files were visually inspected for clarity, skew, and completeness. DPP was also used for renaming batches of files when necessary. After inspection, the RAW files were rotated, cropped, deskewed, & exported as color, 300 ppi master Tifs (archived) using the BookDrive Editor software. Copies of the Tif files were processed with OCR software [ReadIris Pro-version 12], and exported as compressed PDFs (Image-Text) for upload to CONTENTdm. The collection in CONTENTdm was set to display the uploaded PDFs as compound objects. For further details about this project, contact Suzanne Easley easleymyra@uams.edu.
Research Aids
Research Aids
About this collection
Items in this digital collection include bibliographies, research guides, indexes, UAMS class rosters and box lists for the UAMS Archive collection in the Historical Research Center.
UAMS Publications & Records
UAMS Publications & Records
About this collection
This text searchable collection contains a selection of materials produced by UAMS, its colleges and departments, faculty, staff, and affiliated organizations. Items may include personal and office papers of faculty and staff; journal issues; newsletters; official reports & self-studies; school catalogs; organizational charts; pamphlets & brochures; class notes; and news releases. NOTE: Yearbooks will be in a separate digital collection.
Ephemera
Ephemera
About this collection
This digital collection highlights a selection of printed materials in the Historical Research Center’s collections that were not originally intended to be saved or preserved. Items include advertisements for health related products or services; medical supply catalogs; product packaging; calendars; posters; class attendance tickets.