Evidence Based Practice
Finding the Right Information
The clinical resources listed here are specifically provided to assist the health care professional in the hospital or clinic setting. All database resources can be found here.
Check out our page on Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). an up to date listing of free resources for health sciences professionals, consumers and news updates.
Point of Care Resources
- UptoDate This link opens in a new windowConcise topic reviews of published evidence with recommendations for patient care. Includes Lexi-Interact drug interactions analysis tool. Earn CME/CE/CPD credit every time you research a clinical question using UpToDate. Log in with your UAMS domain account and then register. Use this link on and off campus for CME accrual.UptoDate Anywhere tip sheet available at https://explorece.wolterskluwer.com/uptodate_commercial_onb/up-to-date-anywhere-#page=1
- Essential Evidence Plus & AHFS DI Essentials This link opens in a new windowEssential Evidence Plus (EE+) is a comprehensive clinical decision support system that integrates information on 9,000 diagnoses into healthcare professionals' clinical workflows. EE+ features over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, tools, images, and summaries covering the most common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians come in contact with every day.
Article Databases
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive biomedical journal literature, multi-lingual, from the (U.S.) National Library of Medicine. Free Medline search tool for Medline developed by National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Drug and Pharmacology Resources
- Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowPoint of care source for pharmacology and clinical information.Clinical applications include drug interactions, tablet and capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets.
Pharmacy students should contact the Dean's office of the College of Pharmacy for authorization codes to the mobile device app. - Micromedex This link opens in a new windowReferenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.
- NeoFax This link opens in a new windowDrug Monographs focused specifically on neonatal and pediatric drug therapy, age and indication-specific drug-dosing calculators, and enteral formula nutritional information for the neonatal and pediatric populations.
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowOnline curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. Allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
Evidence Based Databases
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database that provides a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized controlled trials. Records contain the list of authors, the title of the article, the source, volume, issue, page numbers, and, in many cases, a summary of the article (abstract). They do not contain the full text of the article.
- BestBETs (Best Evidence Topics) This link opens in a new windowBETs were developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature.
- TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database Pro This link opens in a new windowSimultaneously search for systematic reviews, practice guidelines, medical image databases, e-textbooks, etc.
eBook Resources
- ClinicalKey Flex This link opens in a new windowA medical search engine that searches for information contained in more than 1100 ebooks and 650 journals.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowFull text and images from the most recent editions of gold standard textbooks in internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacology, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, and patient care. Some features require free account registration, including the USMLE practice from the Lange Self Assessment Tool.
- Stat!Ref This link opens in a new windowCollection of over 130 current standard textbooks for a variety of medical specialties. Includes handbooks, dictionaries, drug information, and laboratory and diagnostic tests.
- AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new windowIncludes 20+ physical therapy textbooks, videos, NPTE review material, and an interactive cadaver dissection tool.
Diabetes 2021 – A Brief Medication Review Booklet for Diabetes
The Diabetes 2021 project is focused on providing quality and easily accessed information to healthcare providers on newer diabetes medications. The Diabetes 2021 – Useful Information booklet was piloted in the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences primary care settings to help update clinicians on newer diabetes insulins including: medication class; onset and duration of medication; trade and generic names; precautions; and Arkansas Medicaid coverage. The booklet is intended to facilitate more current prescriptive practices surrounding the treatment of diabetes.
The Diabetes 2021 booklet can downloaded from this site for use by clinicians, or ¼ page and ½ page versions are available through grant funding. Email Lindsay Blake leblake@uams.edu for more information.
Additional Resources
- PsychiatryOnline Premium Package This link opens in a new windowFull text access to the DSM-IV-TR, Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry with interactive study guide, American Journal of Psychiatry and 4 other psychiatry journal, APA practice guidelines, and self-assessment tools.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) This link opens in a new window"CDC increases the health security of our nation. As the nation’s health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health threats. To accomplish our mission, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise."
- MDCalc (Medical calculator) This link opens in a new windowMDCalc includes clinical tools and databases intended for use by healthcare professionals. The contents of the MDCalc Site, such as text, graphics and images are for informational purposes only. MDCalc does not recommend or endorse any specific tests, physicians, products, procedures, or opinions.
Contains structures, standardized summaries of guidelines from major organizations, societies and institutions across the United States and abroad.