Try reverting your document to version 2 of W-N-C, and then reconvert it up to version 3 again.  To do this:

Using W-N-C III, look under Tools

Choose the option to “revert to WNC v.2 document”

When the document processes, save it

Then, reconvert it back to v.3 with Tools>Convert to WNC III Document

If you have recently installed EndNote, un-install WNC and re-install WNC.

For a common manuscript, it is critical to always use the same RefWorks account when you are creating the documents with references and a bibliography.  References put into a RefWorks (RW) account are numbered with an ID by RW no matter whether you export from a database search or enter citations manually or import them from a colleague’s file.  When you Export references and then Import them into another RW account, the imported references are assigned new IDs.  The old ID number will be kept in the notes field of the reference but it is not usable for constructing bibliographies.

Because one reference may have different ID numbers depending on what account(s) it resides in, it is important to use the same account so the numbers are consistent to produce an accurate bibliography.

Use the same tools, Write-N-Cite III or Write-N-Cite 4 or RCM, but do not go back and forth.  These create different behind the scenes formats.  If people use different tools, the manuscript will need to be reverted or/and converted back to the final tool you will use.  One line/Cite and RW program bibliographies also have some conflicts with WNC tools.

* For a new project, use WNC 4.  If you already have documents and bibliographies written with WNC III, continue with that.

Microsoft Word 2007, 2010 and 2013 all work with WNC 4.         

Method to combine multiple documents with in-text references into one document with one overall bibliography using RefWorks' Write-N-Cite

*** All work Must be done using references from one common RefWorks account.**

It's a good idea to have one person to coordinate the production of the final collaborative manuscript.

*It is best if all writers work in the same style.  APA, Chicago 16th ed., and Harvard are suggested.

UAMS librarians recommend that you create your document and in-text citations using an author, year format (such as those above) even if you will need to use a numbered style to submit your manuscript or grant proposal.  The author, year format is easily converted to a numbered style for the final document, but documents created by individual contributors done in a numbered style will need conversions as they are brought into the final comprehensive document.

-write text inserting references from RW via Write-N-Cite (WNC)  ~~do not create a bibliography~~

-save the document to submit to the manuscript coordinator

Manuscript Coodinator functions:

-copy just the text from the individual documents to put into the manuscript document (use Ctrl-C or R mouse click Copy)

-paste that into another document, a blank one or one which also has just text and no bibliography (use Ctrl-V or R mouse click & Paste using "Keep Source Formatting" option

-when all text is in the final document, use WNC to create the bibliography

Once the bibliography has been created, you can use the WNC option to change to another output style.

If you are using Internet Explorer v. 9, there may be some functions that are not fully compatible with all of the RefWorks features.  RefWorks recommends setting your IE9 to be downwardly compatible.  This seems to work for issues they have had regarding manual input of new records and issues with RefGrab-It not working.  To do this:

Through the Address Bar-

NOTE: If Internet Explorer recognizes a webpage that is not compatible, you will see the Compatibility View icon button on the Address bar.

1. To Turn On Compatibility View for the Webpage

Click on the unhighlighted Compatibility View icon button. (See screenshot below)
NOTE: The webpage will now reload with Compatibility View turned on for it.

2. To Turn Off Compatibility View for the Webpage

     Click on the highlighted Compatibility View icon button.

Note: The Compatibility toggle can also be found under the Tools button on the IE9 command bar.

RefWorks has a user support community where you will find tips and tricks, videos, workbooks, and more materials to help you make the most out of your RefWorks account.