The UAMS Library is the primary academic health sciences library in Arkansas and acts as the major information resource for biomedical and allied health education, research, and clinical care activities. The Library fulfills its responsibilities as Arkansas’s resource library within the National Network of Libraries of Medicine/South Central Region.

The Library serves the UAMS faculty, staff, students, researchers, and clinical personnel regardless of their location.    The Library coordinates services with the Northwest Campus and Arkansas Children’s Hospital.

The Library serves licensed health professionals in Arkansas through the UAMS Regional Programs. The UAMS Library acts as the regional center library for Pulaski County.

The UAMS Library provides staff development and training, expert searching and research services, outreach activities, and support for library management services such as cataloging of materials, interlibrary loan, and circulation functions.   

The Library serves as a health information resource for residents of Arkansas through the promotion of National Library of Medicine resources and services. 

UAMS Library Users

UAMS faculty, students, staff and clinical personnel are given priority in the use of library resources.

Library User Privileges

Current UAMS faculty, staff, employees, and students are eligible for library privileges during the period in which they are affiliated with the university.  Privileges include borrowing of library materials from other libraries, on-campus and remote access to library databases and subscriptions, document delivery service, and reference and education services.  Fees may apply.

Pulaski County health professionals are eligible for checkout privileges, access to all digital and print collections when they visit the UAMS Library, Research and Clinical Search Services for literature searches, training sessions, general reference assistance, interlibrary loans and document delivery services (fee-based).

Although the UAMS Library is open to all users needing the information contained in the Library’s collection, circulation of items as well as access to some online resources are restricted to users with UAMS network accounts.

Library User Confidentiality           

In compliance with Arkansas code Annotated 13-2-703, personal details of library patrons associated with library accounts are confidential and subject to disclosure only as allowed by the Arkansas Code.

Collections

The Library maintains a print, digital, and online collection of materials to meet the education, research, and clinical needs of UAMS faculty, staff, students and clinical personnel.  The Library participates in cooperative purchasing and service initiatives with other state institutions and agencies, including the Arkansas Department of Health, University of Arkansas System, Arkansas Children’s Hospital, AHECs and Regional Programs, and the ARKLINK consortium of libraries of higher education institutions in Arkansas as well regional and national health sciences purchasing agreements when advantageous for the Library.UAMS faculty, staff, students and clinical personnel.  The Library participates in cooperative purchasing and service initiatives with other state institutions and agencies, including the Arkansas Department of Health, University of Arkansas System, Arkansas Children’s Hospital, AHECs and Regional Programs, and the ARKLINK consortium of libraries of higher education institutions in Arkansas as well regional and national health sciences purchasing agreements when advantageous for the Library.

The Library identifies and preserves the archives of UAMS and maintains a collection of artifacts and materials on the history of the health sciences in Arkansas.UAMS and maintains a collection of artifacts and materials on the history of the health sciences in Arkansas.

Facilities

The Library maintains a facility with wireless connectivity, networked computers and other equipment, software, a variety of study, collaborative group, and educational areas to accommodate users.

The Library seeks to be ADA compliant and to be prepared to offer accommodations to address the needs of students and other with disabilities.

When the Library is closed, an after-hours area is restricted to use by UAMS students and residents only.   All other users must leave the Library at closing time.

Access to Resources

The Library website (www.library.uams.edu) provides access to library materials within the Library and across the UAMS campuses as well as remote access.   UAMS authentication is required to access resource restricted by license of purchase agreements.UAMS campuses as well as remote access.   UAMS authentication is required to access resource restricted by license of purchase agreements.

Additionally, the UAMS Library allows access to biomedical and health sciences resources including print materials and online health and biomedical resources within the Library. UAMS Library allows access to biomedical and health sciences resources including print materials and online health and biomedical resources within the Library. 

 

Assistance in the Use of Library Resources

Education and Reference Services (ERS) provides a wide variety of educational services on effectively using the library resources to individuals and groups and provides presentations on and support for health literature searching, citation management, scholarly publishing, and copyright issues for faculty, staff, students and clinical personnel.  The Library coordinates with the Student Success Center on presentations and support when appropriate.

The Research and Clinical Search Services (RCSS) collaborates with the research community and provide free searching and consultations for faculty, staff, residents, clinical personnel and graduate students.