Arkansas Consumer Health Information Guide
A guide to reliable general-use and condition specific consumer health websites and resources.
Funding Information
This project has been supported in part or in full by Federal funds through the National Library of Medicine of the National Institutes of Health under award number UG54LM012345 with the University of North Texas Health Science Center. The content is the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the NIH.
Contact Us
Stefani Gafford, MPH (she/they)
Research and Clinical Search Services Coordinator
Email: sdgafford@uams.edu
Welcome to the LGBTQIA+ Health Page
This information page is intended for those in the Lesbian, Gay Men, Bisexual, Pansexual, Transgender, Gender Queer/Questioning, Intersex, Agender, Asexual, and Ally (LGBTQIA+) community. It provides guidance for individuals and providers in specific care issues in these communities.
LGBTQIA+ Health
Transgender Health
Additional Resources
Resources for Health Care Providers
LGBTQIA+ Health
Human Rights Campaign (HRC) - The largest national lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer civil rights organization. HRC envisions a world where LGBTQ people are ensured of basic equal rights.
LGBTQ+Health MedlinePlus- Members of the LGBTQ+ community include people who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer/questioning, plus those who have other gender identities and orientations. On this page you'll find information about health issues that are specific to the LGBTQ+ community. (National Library of Medicine)
The Trevor Project- The Trevor Project is the leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer & questioning (LGBTQ) young people under 25.
It Gets Better- The It Gets Better Project is a nonprofit organization with a mission to uplift, empower, and connect lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer youth around the globe.
National LGBT Health Education Center - A program of the Fenway Institute, the Center aims to advance LGBTQIA+ health equity, eliminate health disparities, optimize access to cost-effective health care, and improve the length and quality of life for LGBTQIA+ people.
National LGBT Cancer Network - the LGBT community is disproportionately affected by cancer. The LGBT Cancer Network seeks to improve the lives of cancer survivors and help those at risk by educating about increased cancer risk, training health care providers, and advocating for survivors.
Lambda Legal - The oldest and largest national legal organization whose mission is to achieve full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and everyone living with HIV.
Ryan White Foundation- The Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program is a U.S. Government program that provides funds to State and local governments and agencies that in turn provide doctor's care, HIV/AIDS medications and many other services to people who do not have health insurance or funds to pay for the HIV care they need. Core medical services include:
- HIV-related medications through the Arkansas Drug Assistance Program (ADAP)
- Laboratory Services
- Oral Health Care
- Primary Medical Care
- Mental Health Care
End the Epidemic- Gilead Sciences has pioneered research and development of HIV therapies across the care continuum, establishing ourselves within the HIV landscape. We've developed a number of commercially available medications for both the treatment and prevention of HIV, and are advancing a pipeline of investigational therapeutic options.
ACLU- The ACLU dares to create a more perfect union — beyond one person, party, or side. Our mission is to realize this promise of the United States Constitution for all and expand the reach of its guarantees.
Transgender Health
Human Rights Campaign - The largest national lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer civil rights organization. HRC envisions a world where LGBTQ people are ensured of basic equal rights.
National Center for Transgender Equality - Founded in 2003 by transgender activists to advocate for policy change. This site includes information on healthcare, but also introductions to transgender and non-binary people, violence, employment, travel, housing, and self-help guides.
HealthCare.gov - Transgender health care - covers information on applying for marketplace coverage, sex-specific preventative services, plans with transgender exclusions, and more details to help pick out the best plan for your needs.
Lambda Legal - The oldest and largest national legal organization whose mission is to achieve full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and everyone living with HIV.
Digital Transgender Archive - increasing the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials.
The National Center for Transgender Equality- The National Center for Transgender Equality advocates to change policies and society to increase understanding and acceptance of transgender people. In the nation’s capital and throughout the country, NCTE works to replace disrespect, discrimination, and violence with empathy, opportunity, and justice.
Additional Resources
The Safe Zone Project - A free online resource providing curricula, activities, and other resources for educators to facilitate or individuals to explore Safe Zone Training. Safe Zone training covers sexuality, gender and LGBTQ+ educational information.
LGBTQIA+ Health Fact Sheets - presented by the University of California - San Fransisco - Prevention Science - Department of Medicine - Center of Excellence in Transgender Health. Available in both English and Spanish. Covering topics from Drug Use, HIV Care, HIV Interventions, Testing and more.
University of Southern California Libguide - This guide provides LGBTQIA+ health and cultural competency resources for healthcare providers, educators, and students.
LUCIE'S PLACE - LUCIE’S PLACE PROVIDES LGBTQ YOUNG ADULTS EXPERIENCING HOMELESSNESS IN CENTRAL ARKANSAS WITH SAFE LIVING ENVIRONMENTS, JOB TRAINING AND COUNSELING SERVICES IN ORDER TO ENSURE LIFELONG STABILITY AND SUCCESS, AND WORKS TO PROMOTE EQUALITY AND ACCEPTANCE FOR LGBTQ YOUNG ADULTS.
Planned Parenthood - At Planned Parenthood our mission is to ensure all people have access to the care and resources they need to make informed decisions about their bodies, their lives, and their futures. Founded in 1916, Planned Parenthood is a trusted health care provider, educator, and passionate advocate here in the U.S. as well as a strong partner to health and rights organizations around the world. Each year, Planned Parenthood delivers vital sexual and reproductive health care, sex education, and information to millions of people.
The Kinsey Institute - Dr. Alfred Kinsey and his research team incorporated as the Institute for Sex Research. ISR had two primary goals: to continue the team's research on human sexual behavior; and to administer research resources, including research materials, a library, case histories, and other related materials.
Center for Artistic Revolution - CAR (Center for Artistic Revolution) strives to show activism through creativity and cultural work. Every year, CAR hosts Corazon to showcase the graciously donated work of local community artists. Corazon is where we see how each person expresses themselves, their lives, their identities, their families, and their communities.
Resources for Health Care Providers
Welcoming All Patients:
- Focusing on Forms and Policy - National LGBT Health Education Center
- Making Your Clinic Welcoming to LGBTQ Individuals - University of New Mexico Family Medicine Program
- Creating an LGBTQ-Friendly Practice - American Medical Association
- Treating Everyone Uniquely - Johns Hopkins University
- The 4 C's of Culture- Lehigh Valley Health Network
Specific Care Concerns in the LGBTQ+ Community:
- Providing Inclusive Care for LGBTQ Patients - Essential Access Health
- Providing Inclusive Services and Care for LGBT People - Fenway Institute
- The eQuality Toolkit: Practical Skills for LGBTQ and DSD-Affected Patient Care - University of Louisville
Specific Care concerns in the Transgender Community:
- Standards of Care - The World Professional Association for Transgender Health (WPATH)
- Clinical Practice Guideline to Endocrine Treatment of Gender Dysphoric/Gender-Incongruent Persons - Endocrine Society
National LGBT Health Education Center - A program of the Fenway Institute, the Center aims to advance LGBTQIA+ health equity, eliminate health disparities, optimize access to cost-effective health care, and improve the length and quality of life for LGBTQIA+ people.
- Learning Modules
- Webinars
-
-
1. To provide a safe and secure environment for LGBT students, faculty and staff, and their allies.
2. To help educate students, faculty and staff on issues facing the LGBT population to ensure culturally competent health care professionals.
3. To engage with the LGBT community at large to develop collaborative partnerships to foster health.
-
Disclaimer
By becoming more knowledgeable about your condition, you can be better prepared to talk with your health care provider and take a more active role in your health care. The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences provides this listing of consumer health web sites for informational use only, and does not establish a professional relationship between the users and any health care provider. These materials are not intended as a substitute for the care of a qualified health care provider.