Arkansas Consumer Health Information Guide
A guide to reliable general-use and condition specific consumer health websites and resources.
Welcome to the Drug/Alcohol Misuse Page
In this guide you will find a variety of health information websites and resources geared towards education on the use and misuse of alcohol and drugs. Many sites hold data on overdose rates, death rates, and drug or alcohol related health issues. There is also a great deal of information for patients on how to avoid and/or deal with addiction.
Click on a link below or scroll down to find out more about each site.
Help.org
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Sites for Teens
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
National Library of Medicine (NLM) Resources
rehabs.org
Help.org
Help.org is a national organization that also provides Arkansas specific information for addiction rehabilitation services throughout the state as well as recovery resources.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is an agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.
Some areas you can explore in the SAMHSA site:
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) has the mission of advancing science on the causes and consequences of drug use and addiction and to apply that knowledge to improve individual and public health. While much of the NIDA site is directed towards researchers and health care professionals important information can be found for consumers including basic information on alcohol, drugs and tobacco.
Some areas you can explore in the NIDA site:
- Drugs of Abuse
- Addiction Science
- Health Consequences of Drug Misuse
- Drugged Driving
- NIDA Drug Pubs - free publications to aid in education of children, teens, and adults.
- Drugs, Brains and Behavior: Science of Addiction
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) hosts a number of sites to assist with drug and alcohol misuse. Information from the CDC includes resources for the public, health professionals and policy makers.
Some areas you can explore on the CDC site:
- Opioid Overdose - includes information on understanding why opioids and opioid overdose is a large problem; data about prescribing rates and deaths; how to prevent overdosing; and information on how to handle, what to expect and how to prevent opioid misuse.
- Alcohol and Public Health - includes fact sheets on alcohol use and health; public health surveys; information on binge drinking, drinking & driving, excessive alcohol use, and underage drinking; as well as commonly asked questions.
- Marijuana and Public Health - includes information on the health effects of marijuana; data and statistics; fast fact sheets; and commonly asked questions. En Español
Sites for Teens
NIDA for Teens is a project of NIDA and the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The site features content specifically for middle and high school students, and their teachers and parents. Drug facts, activities, lesson plans, and information for positive parenting are all included on this site.
Above the Influence is a website originally created as a part of the National Youth Anti-Drug Media Campaign, a program of the Office of National Drug Control Policy. Above the Influence has since transitioned away from federal oversight (as of March 2014), and is now a program of the non-profit Partnership for Drug-Free Kids. Their goal is to help teens stand up to negative pressures, or influences. The more aware you are of the influences around you, the better prepared you will be to face them, including the pressure to use drugs and alcohol.
Operation Prevention is a joint project of the DEA and Discovery Education to provide no-cost online tools that support every member of the community with the power of prevention. Help kickstart life-saving conversations today with standards-aligned English & Spanish-language resources for students in grades 3-12, plus additional resources designed for educators, families, and professionals.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) provides brochures and fact sheets for the general public and health professionals. Classroom resources are also available. Some publications are available in Spanish.
Some areas you can explore on the NIAAA site:
National Library of Medicine (NLM)
Additional sites from the National Library of Medicine:
A Roadmap to Behavioral Health: A Guide to Using Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder Services is a booklet that focuses on behavioral health about mental health and substance use disorder services, finding a behavioral health provider, defining behavioral health terms, receiving services, and following up on care.
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource in English or Español for patients and their families and friends. MedlinePlus includes many health topics pages on issues relating to substance use such as the ones listed below. They also provide links to other relevant and reliable sources of information.
NLM's Substance Use Disorders Guide provides even more links to reliable sources of information on substance use disorders, including a guide with sections of resources for specific populations like African Americans, Families, Rural, Veterans, Women, Teens, Latino Americans, and Faith Based Organizations.
rehabs.org
rehabs.org provides patients and their families with free information on alcohol and drug rehabilitation centers around the state as well as information on types of treatment programs, costs, and more.
Disclaimer
By becoming more knowledgeable about your condition, you can be better prepared to talk with your health care provider and take a more active role in your health care. The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences provides this listing of consumer health web sites for informational use only, and does not establish a professional relationship between the users and any health care provider. These materials are not intended as a substitute for the care of a qualified health care provider.