This project has been supported in part or in full by Federal funds through the National Library of Medicine of the National Institutes of Health under award number UG54LM012345 with the University of North Texas Health Science Center. The content is the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the NIH.
On this page you will find various sites with information on topics relating to women's health. Most of the websites presented here contain broad information on women's health and content about narrower topics such as sexuality, sexually transmitted infections (STIs), family planning, fertility, endometriosis, menopause, heart health for women, and gynecological cancers. Click on a link below or scroll down to find out more about each site.
Arkansas Department of Health
CDC: Women's Health
FDA: For Women
Our Bodies Ourselves
You may also want to visit our guide with resources specific to Pregnancy and Childbirth.
Arkansas Department of Health: Women's Health - The Arkansas Department of Health’s Women’s Health program promotes and provides family planning, prenatal and related preventive health clinical services. It also provides clients with information and services for women, men, couples and families to enable them to space their pregnancies, and provides community education and outreach about issues related to family planning and the health of mothers and infants.
MedlinePlus: Women's Health - MedlinePlus, a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), is an online health information resource in English or Español for patients and their families and friends. The site includes a health topic page on women's health with information on health issues unique to women and links to additional reliable sources.
Women's Health Checkup - MedlinePlus Women's Health Checkup provides information on special exams and screenings for women.
WomensHealth.gov - A site created and maintained by the national Office on Women's Health, WomensHealth.gov has information on women's health and wellness, diseases and conditions, and reproductive health.
From their Patient Materials section, you can print and download 1-page fact sheets written at the 6th- to 8th-grade reading level in English or Spanish. They also have videos, booklets and infographics for patients on health topics that affect women.
Girlshealth.gov - Created by the Office on Women's Health, this site offers girls reliable information on health and well-being.
They cover hundreds of topics, from getting your period to stopping bullies, and from getting fit to preventing sexually transmitted infections.
AHRQ's Resources for Women's Health - The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality offers information to help enhance our understanding of women’s unique health needs and empower women to be more engaged in health care decisions. In addition to cancer and heart disease, health concerns unique to women, such as pregnancy and gynecologic care, are included.
CDC: Women's Health - The CDC's site on Women's Health includes information on topics like healthy living, leading causes of death, women's health initiatives, and women's health at the CDC. You can also subscribe to their Health Matters for Women newsletter. Also available en Español
ACOG - The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists website provides evidence-based women's health information on healthy living, healthy teens, healthy aging, pregnancy, menstrual health, vaccines, mental health, special procedures, and specific conditions.
You can also submit a question for an expert to answer and read real women's health stories or share your own.
FDA: For Women - The FDA's Office of Women's Health has resources to help women make healthy choices for themselves and their loved ones. Many of their resources are in English and Spanish. They provide information on a variety women's health topics and medication safety for women.
HealthyWomen.org - HealthyWomen is on a mission to educate women ages 35 to 64 to make informed health choices. They work to achieve their mission of educating women to make informed health choices by connecting with women through fact-based, expert-sourced content, and creative evidence-based programming. Their site includes articles on a variety of topics and a "Real Women, Real Stories" section with first person accounts from women and an option to submit your own story to share.
Our Bodies Ourselves - This is a companion website for the book Our Bodies, Ourselves by the Boston Women’s Health Book Collective.
The site includes a Health Info section with excerpts from their books and content developed for the website on a variety of women's health topics. *Note: Our Bodies Ourselves is no longer able to regularly update their health content. The date an article was last revised is listed at the top of each page.
© 2017 University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences | Little Rock, AR