Arkansas Consumer Health Information Guide
A guide to reliable general-use and condition specific consumer health websites and resources.
Please Send us your Opinion!
This is a living guide. It will be checked and updated on a regular basis. Please help us by submitting comments, questions, ideas for new content, and any problems you encounter. We appreciate the help!
Arkansas Consumer Health - use this link to email your feedback!
Had content I can use.: 1 votes (14.29%)
Could use more content on my needed topic.: 1 votes (14.29%)
Was easy to navigate.: 0 votes (0%)
Was hard to navigate.: 5 votes (71.43%)
Total Votes: 7
CDC - Adult Vaccine Schedule
Funding Information
This project has been supported in part or in full by Federal funds through the National Library of Medicine of the National Institutes of Health under award number UG54LM012345 with the University of North Texas Health Science Center. The content is the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the NIH.
Welcome to the Drug Information Page
On this page you will find various sites to assist you in looking up information on prescription medications, vitamins, and other supplements. Information like standard doses, usual and unusual side effects and how a drug works, as well as effects in pregnancy and while nursing, can all be found. Click on a link below or scroll down to find out more about each site.
MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Drug Information Portal
DailyMed
Dietary Supplement Label Database
Drugs.com
Additional NIH Resources
MedlinePlus: Drugs and Supplements
MedlinePlus Drugs and Supplements page allows users to search for a variety of medications, both prescription and over the counter, as well as herbs and other supplements. Dietary supplements and herbal remedies include information about effectiveness and usual dosage. Prescription medications and over the counter drugs include side effects, special precautions and dosage information.
DailyMed
DailyMed contains a compilation of medicines as submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). DailyMed provides trustworthy information about medications marketed in the United States. The site provides a standard and up-to-date look at current medication labels. Searchable for animal and human drugs.
Dietary Supplement Label Database
The Dietary Supplement Label Database(DSLD) houses the full labels from dietary supplement products marketed in the United States. It is intended as a resource for researchers and health care providers, but also the general public. Labels on vitamins, protein supplements, weight loss pills, and herbal supplements can all be found here. Please note that these are labels provided by the maker of the product and neither the product or label are FDA approved.
Drugs.com
Drugs.com is a comprehensive database provided by a non-governmental consortium of drug information, electronic health record and pharmacy groups. Information is pulled from a number of reliable sources and the site is certified by the Health on the Net Foundation to be reliable and trustworthy.
Additional NIH Resources
The NIH (National Institutes of Health) National Cancer Institute's website includes information on Cancer Drugs.
The NIH's National Institute on Drug Abuse provides information on drugs and drug abuse, including prevention and treatment.
LactMed® is a free database from the National Library of Medicine (an institute within NIH). LactMed contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant.
Disclaimer
By becoming more knowledgeable about your condition, you can be better prepared to talk with your health care provider and take a more active role in your health care. The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences provides this listing of consumer health web sites for informational use only, and does not establish a professional relationship between the users and any health care provider. These materials are not intended as a substitute for the care of a qualified health care provider.