On this page you will find various sites to assist you in looking up information specific to veterans' health needs as well as other information provided by the federal government for care of veterans.  Click on a link below or scroll down to find out more about each site.

Veterans Health Library

Veteran Health Services

Disabled Veterans National Foundation

National Veterans Foundation

We are the 22

Disabled American Veterans

lines for life

HealthCare.gov

CDC - Veteran's Health Activities

National Center for PTSD

Veterans Health Library features a variety of information specific to veterans including: disability compensation, general benefits, cemetery services, burials, survivor benefits, life insurance, home loans, the GI bill rehabilitation, mental health, VA hospital locations, and PTSD.  More general information on healthy living, disease, medications, tests, and therapies is also included.

• Living well
• Diseases & Conditions
• Rehabilitation
• Mental Health Library

en Español

The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) is a grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for American affected by mental illness. The organization educates, advocates, listens, and leads. The above link leads to information for Veterans & Active Duty Military. 

The Disabled Veterans National Foundation provides a collection of links to recreational therapy - Outward Bound, The Rock Club; service dogs - America's Vet Dogs, Hero Dogs; and mental and physical health - National Alliance on Mental Illness, Navy Safe Harbor Foundation, Military One Source. 

The National Veterans Foundation supports veterans with vet to vet assistance.  Resources include a number of crisis helplines, information on how to apply for and manage benefits, managing healthcare issues, housing, employment, addiction, social support, and transportation.

WE ARE THE 22 is a nonprofit organization combating veteran suicide in Arkansas using direct, peer-based interventions. The organization is made up of veterans and responds to calls 24 hours a day to assist veterans in need of support. 

Disabled American Veterans is a nonprofit charity providing support to veterans and their families by providing rides to medical appointments, submitting benefit claims, and connecting veterans with employment opportunities.

The lines for life site is dedicated to helping prevent substance abuse and suicide.  A specific military helpline provides support for service members and their families.  More information can be found on their crisis support site.

The HealthCare.gov site contains a page devoted to health care  coverage options for military veterans.  The site includes information on TRICARE, the Veterans health care program, and the VA Civilian Health and Medical Program.  Information for veterans without insurance coverage and dependants is also available.

en Español

CDC - Veterans' Health Activities - This site is a portion of the Centers for Disease Control directed at Veterans' studies. Featured studies include Vietnam, Gulf War, and Force Health Protection.  Studies can be downloaded and reviewed.

National Center for Posttraumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) - the world's leading research and educational center of excellence on PTSD and traumatic stress. Get help in understanding Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), treatment of PTSD, and where and when to seek help.  For veterans, their families, and friends.

• Understand PTSD
• Understand PTSD Treatment
• Get Help
• For Families and Friends​

By becoming more knowledgeable about your condition, you can be better prepared to talk with your health care provider and take a more active role in your health care. The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences provides this listing of consumer health web sites for informational use only, and does not establish a professional relationship between the users and any health care provider. These materials are not intended as a substitute for the care of a qualified health care provider.