The Arkansas Department of Health has information specific to the state on disease spread, testing, and other resources.
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID19) - The UAMS Library has collected a number of websites for the public, health professionals, librarians, and researchers.
In this guide you will find a variety of health information websites and resources, from general sites with information on a variety of topics to specialty sites that focus on specific health topics. Click on a link below or scroll down to find out more about each site.
MedlinePlus is authoritative and up to date health information from the National Library of Medicine. Includes health topics, drugs and supplements, medical encyclopedia, lab test information, surgery and health videos, health check tools and games. Also links to information in multiple languages and easy to read materials.
Some areas you can explore in the MedlinePlus site:
healthfinder.gov is sponsored by the Department of Health and Human Services together with other federal agencies. This website is a key resource for prevention information. Personal health tools available as well as resources to help locate local health services from physicians to nursing homes. Resources from government, nonprofit organizations and universities.
Some areas you can explore in the healthfinder.gov site:
The CDC website provides information on various disease and health conditions, healthy living habits, traveler's health, emergency preparedness, health data and statistics, environmental and workplace safety and health, global health, and injury prevention, as well as a number of online publications.
Some areas you can explore in the CDC site:
familydoctor.org ia a consumer health website for all ages from the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). This site focuses on disease and health conditions, prevention and wellness, and family health. Includes features that focus on practical health issues. Also includes a symptom checker.
Some areas you can explore in the familydoctor.org site:
healthychildren.org is a consumer health website focused on children's health and written mainly for parents. Provided by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP). Covers children's health topics from prenatal through young adult. Includes safety and prevention issues, healthy living, family life, tips and tools, and health issues.
Some areas you can explore in the healthychildren.org site:
Mayo Clinic's award-winning website offers consumer health information and self-improvement tools. Mayo Clinic's medical experts and editorial professionals bring you access to the knowledge and experience of Mayo Clinic for all your consumer health information needs, from cancer, diabetes and heart disease to nutrition, exercise and pregnancy. www.mayoclinic.org/patient-care-and-health-information
Cleveland Clinic Health Library provides access to thousands of health articles, videos and tools to help manage your health.
By becoming more knowledgeable about your condition, you can be better prepared to talk with your health care provider and take a more active role in your health care. The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences provides this listing of consumer health web sites for informational use only, and does not establish a professional relationship between the users and any health care provider. These materials are not intended as a substitute for the care of a qualified health care provider.
© 2017 University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences | Little Rock, AR